Fiction logo

Summer Job

...or summer romance

By Ruth RamblesPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
3
Summer Job
Photo by Dollar Gill on Unsplash

She was in aisle 6 when I saw her.

Blue eyes, flawless skin, cute scrunched up nose.

The guy placing her on the shelf; unfortunately, also cute.

‘You heard that though... right?’ he asks, eyes locked with the doll’s.

I sigh. Loudly. He’d been screwing around all shift. Crush. Officially. Over.

‘Callum, just-’ I stop short.

We stare in horror as the doll’s nose twitches.

*Achoo*

‘Oh hell no.’ I say. ‘I’ve seen Chucky.’

‘What now? Take the batteries out?’

I grab his arm to stop him... then let go, blushing.

‘Then, could I...’ he hesitates, ‘... take you out instead?’

Microfiction
3

About the Creator

Ruth Rambles

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock12 months ago

    Aw, sweet!

  • Babs Iverson12 months ago

    Super!!! Loved it!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.