Fiction logo

Subsistent Lies

Chapter 23: Darius

By Kimmie HitePublished 2 years ago 9 min read
Like

I grumbled as I searched the halls for Perius. I knew that it was he who had sent Lady Joan to me, and even more so he had better have good news for me. I found him wooing a lady with a lute and I rolled my eyes at the thought. Perius had spent too many days winning ladies hearts in the day and pleasing them at night. “A little early for love songs, don’t you suppose Perius?” I asked as I walked toward my man.

Upon my coming he immediately discarded his lute and began to talk to the lady. She left blushing and I shook my head. “If you are done Perius, I would like to know what it was you needed me for.”

“Can’t I amuse myself with the women at court?”

I shook my head as I leaned against the wall.

“I hope she is not a princess. You know how Arthur feels about your wooing of the women at court, especially his daughters.”

Perius laughed and shook his head. “She is naught a lady or a princess.”

“Then she is?”

“Someone to amuse myself with until something better comes along.”

“I see.” I started to walk toward the stables and he followed. “What is the matter that you needed me?” I asked after a while.

Perius sighed and finally said, “I got all the information you needed on this Isabella Fairavard. She has three suitors that wish to win her hand in marriage. One of them is Corbet. He is a merchant that has made a mark for himself in town, as well as out if you know what I mean.” He wiggled his eyebrows and I waved him on. “The other is Geoffry. He is a young farmer who is looking to find a wife to help keep his lands.”

“And the last?” I sighed, taking a seat on a bench.

“He is our dear friend Forbes.”

“Ah, Forbes.”

I looked across the field until finally Perius asked, “What does this mean to you?”

“What do you mean?” I asked turning toward him.

He sighed and finally said, “What does this girl mean to you? First you ask of all of her whereabouts at last night’s ball and now you wish to know about her suitors. What does this girl mean to you?” I was silent and Perius sighed. “My friend, please do not tell me that you are falling for the girl.”

I was still silent. I couldn’t lie to Perius; he knew me too well and would know that I would be lying. “I simply am watching over her. She’s dear to Arthur; her father was a good friend to him.” At least that much is true. I thought.

“Watching over her, eh?”

“You know me Perius. When have I fallen to the likes of a lady?”

“Your right and I’m sorry to misjudge you.” He stood and turned to me. “Before you leave, there is something else that has been troubling me.”

“Yes.”

“I tried to get what I could of that other women, Zaria is it? I haven’t retrieved any information other than she’s a daughter to a man who hung himself and is now seeking a husband.”

I sighed and nodded. “Thank you Perius. You may return to your wooing, I feel that I will not need you until later.”

He nodded, turned and left. I sighed as I got up myself and headed to find Tome. There was something about Zaria that was vaguely familiar to me…too familiar. I was enticed by her not for her beauty, but her eyes, the same eyes that haunt me every time I close my eyes to dream.

****************

I found Tome laughing with two other men in the large hall and I hesitantly approached. I had asked a lot of my friend and I knew I wouldn’t be able to get it without answering his questions. Once he spotted me he excused himself from the older men and walked my way. “What is it that brings my lord to me, and in such fast notice? First you barely give me time to tend to that horrible wound of yours, then you leave so early in the morning even the song birds aren’t up, and now I expect you want to know about the information that I just dug up.”

I smiled at him and nodded. “You know me well friend.”

“I do,” he rubbed his beard and raised a brow. “Why do you want to know this information though? Why does it matter to you?”

I smiled and leaned against the wall. “I knew you would ask me of this and I tell you this, and I’ll only tell it once. I’m worried for my dear lady and hope to…err, become better aquatinted with her courtiers.”

“Ah,” he gave me another look before laughing. “If that’s what you say then I will rightfully believe you. She has been set to meet with these men at three different times. One she will meet for dinner, the other she will meet on the morrow and the next the dinner at the morrow.”

I kept track of this in my mind and smiled toward Forbes. “Thank you, my dear friend. I will remember this.”

He nodded and frowned. “Darius please do not get too attached to this girl. There has been talk of the court about this Gabriel character. It is said that he is here to set out war. If that is the case, I do not want you to get distracted. We will need you if that does happen, and with your knee…” He started to drift but I only smiled.

“I know your worry friend and it will do you no good. Tome, you have known me since I was a babe. Do you misjudge my abilities now?”

“No but still…just be on your guard.”

“I will get my men to start training. Please do not fret over this, especially not to Arthur or anyone of the matter. His worries are high enough without the thought of war on his mind.”

“I won‘t. Now you go and attend to your lady. Save her from the men who wish to win her heart.”

I smiled at Tome and nodded. “I think I will.”

*********************

I yawned as I grabbed another goblet of wine and looked at the door again. Tome had told me that she was to be here for dinner, but it seems minutes had gone by since they had opened the dining doors. I was going to retreat early for the night when I finally caught glimpse of her coming in with her spitfire sister Gabriella. She looked a bit lost and confused and was going to turn to leave when her oldest sister, the one that captured me with her eyes, pushed her back in the room. She sighed as the man that looked to be her first suitor came and kissed her hand. She was then led to the table when Perius came beside me and asked, “So, you found out when she would be seeing her suitors?” I nodded as I looked toward her again. “From who?”

“A friend of mine.”

“Ah,” he took a swig of his wine and asked, “What is this about training?”

I sighed and brought my eyes from Isabella to him. “We need to start training. We’ve enjoyed the luxuries of the palace for far too long.”

“What is this really about? The rumors? Surely they can’t be true.”

“we shouldn’t risk the chance.” I sighed, looking at him. “Don’t you have some woman to be enticing to your bed tonight?” I asked, wanting to be left to watch over Isabella.

“Quick to be rid of me are we?” He said, following my gaze, but began laughing. “But yes my Captain you know me well, but not well enough. I have three women, not one, to entice to my bed tonight.” Perius said, getting up, wiggling his eyes.

I only looked at him with a stern look. “Be sure you do not tire yourself. I will not accept any excuses for not showing up for training on the morrow.”

Perius took another swig of his wine, gave a mock bow, and left in the direction of the princesses. I shook my head. Will the boy ever learn? If Arthur hears he was meddling with his daughters, it would be possible Anevia would see the bad side of their King. I looked away to see where Isabella was, but she was nowhere to be found. I sat back knowing the King would not like for his Captain to leave especially when there was a prospect of war to discuss. I looked at the King; he showed no recognition of knowing that rumors had already started about the war, which was surprising considering it was the talk of the court.

“Sir?” I turned to the servant who spoke to me. “The King wishes to speak to you in his studies when the feast is over.” I nodded my recognition.

I knew the feast would be over once the minstrels entered the dining hall. Isabella had not returned and I was growing worried. Getting up I went to excuse myself. “My lord,” I said going to the King and bowing. “May I excuse myself? There’s…er…something I need to take care of.”

The King looked to where Isabella’s vacant seat was still empty. Nodding he said, “You’re excused, but make sure you are not late for our meeting.”

Bowing again I took my leave. As I passed Gabby I saw her spill some of her wine onto one of her suitors, and passing Zaria I saw that she had accidentally hit her suitor with her hand, and, along with others, was trying to wake him. I chuckled and shook my head as I left to walk into the great hall. Already the minstrels were setting out there instruments and I sighed. I knew I had lost Isabella for sure when I heard a shriek behind me. I quickly turned from my spot and ran to where I heard the sound. There I saw Isabella shaking off whatever was on her skirt. “Are you mad?” She asked after a while, looking at her startled suitor.

“I thought ladies liked mice? You would have to grow accustomed to ‘em, there all over the farm.” I noticed her suitor’s sharp accent and shook my head, trying to contain my smile.

Obviously the farmer I thought walking over to the two. “Does there seem to be a problem, my lady?”

Isabella turned her angry eyes from her suitor to me and smiled. “Oh Captain, you are never going to believe what this horrid man did to me.”

“I can imagine.” I said bending down to pick up the mouse that was shook off her skirt.

Isabella shuddered as I handed the mouse back to Geoffry and dismissed him with a curt nod. Geoffry looked at Isabella and with his head bent low walked off. “It seems Captain that, that is the second time you have saved me from the company of unpleasant men.” She said sighing in relief as her suitor turned a corner.

“Well my lady it is in the job description.” I said offering my arm.

She took it and we took a stroll inside the castle. “A true knight even out of his shining armor.”

I smiled pleasantly as we turned a corner where paintings of the Captains of old were hung. My pace slowed down as I neared the picture of my father. “Is there something wrong?” Isabella asked looking up at me with concern.

I smiled down at her pleasantly. “It is my knee I’m afraid it is troubling me.” I lied.

“Of course you have been are your leg all day. How foolish of me? Come lets find somewhere for you to sit.” Isabel said looking about for a seat.

Her eyes fell on the picture of my father and her hand dropped from my arm. She began massaging her temples as if her head hurt. “Isabella are you okay?” I asked as I watched her.

She turned to me. Her eyes had flipped up so only the whites showed and then she collapsed into my arms. I began fanning her hoping to revive her, but she would not. Picking her up I carried her up to the sanatorium. It seemed that for once in my life my King would have to come second, for this night I would not leave her side until I knew she was alright.

Series
Like

About the Creator

Kimmie Hite

Born in the Philippines as a military brat I grew up as a kid exposed to all walks of life and cultures. Currently, working on releasing self published book while living with lupus nephritis as a single mother waiting for transplant

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.