Fiction logo

Subsistent Lies

Chapter 25: Gabriel

By Kimmie HitePublished 2 years ago 9 min read
Like

I walked away from Zaria and shook my head. After the ball I had spent my night dreaming of her and when I woke the next morning I swore I would erase all thoughts of her completely. But then I saw her again as she was presented at court and…I threw my hands up in frustration as I entered the King’s study.

“Your grace.” I bowed and Arthur looked up from the papers he was looking at. “I’ve come to talk to you on Valence.”

Arthur sighed and nodded. “I guess the time has come. Tell me, what is it that you ask of me?”

I took a seat across from him and sighed. “My king, Vincenzio, only wishes to have the land. It was originally part of Vespar, and he feels it should be returned to him.”

Arthur leaned back in his chair and nodded. “Ah, it is true., but a knight of his, Galian, sold it to me therefore it is now mine.”

“No matter, he only wants it back.”

Arthur chuckled and shook his head. “I know why he wants the land. My farmers have tripled their income with the crops they’ve produced in the past months. Vincenzio always wants what’s his when it deals with money. No matter,” he leaned forward in his chair and returned to his papers. “The land belongs to Blaine Jacquis. He’s already told me that he wishes to not part with the land. So it is only right that I keep it. Tell Vincenzio that unless he is willing to share, that Valence shall not belong to him.”

I sighed and nodded. “Of course, your grace. It is sad though, that you have made this decision.”

“Why is this?” he asked, looking up at me.

“I will tell you this with only the presence of your esteemed guards. After tonight’s feast, I hope to have a meeting with you, your Captain of the Guard Darius, and Blaine. I feel that the matter shall require their presence as well as your own.” Arthur only looked at me as I excused myself from his presence and walked out of the study.

**********

I shook my head as I re-entered the courtyard and started to head for my room. There was no reasoning with either of the Kings; they were both selfish in both their good and bad ways and because of this Vespar and Anevia would suffer greatly. I rubbed my head at the thought. The sound of war wasn’t what I wanted it to come down too. Both kingdoms had knights the rest of the world could only dream of. It was true I was good with a sword, but I did not will to be in another war. I shook my head as I found my room and headed for my study. I also did not will to fall for a woman, but my heart had betrayed me and it seemed that I was falling deeper for Zaria Fairavard. I glanced at the papers lying on my desk and threw them to the ground. If I did go to war, she would be my only concern while I fought. I knew what young soldiers sought when at war. Treasures of any kind and women to rape and later kill. I shuddered at the thought of Zaria in the hands of another. I would die than watch her be ravaged by any man. I sighed as I collected myself and picked up the papers that had fallen. In disgust I put them on the desk and looked down at them. By talking to the servants and people of court, I had finalized what I thought I knew. It was the Calib and Colin that I had been seeking. The same Calib and Colin who had killed my family, my sister, and the same one who were asking two of the Fairavard sisters in their hand in marriage. A knock on the door broke me of my thoughts and I walked quickly to see who it was. “My lord,” the young attendant walked in and I sat on my bed.

“You have found out who has called for her?” He nodded eagerly and I raised a brow.

“Well…?”

“One of them is The Baron of Iscelly. The other is a Duke, a son of King Arthur’s past cousin. The last is, of course…Lord Calib who-“

“I know of Lord Calib and all that he represents. Do you know when she is to meet all three of these men?”

The attended slowly shook his head. “Nay, I was spotted and was not able to hear the rest.”

I nodded and dug in my pocket. “Here, five rubbles, as promised.”

I threw him the money and he grabbed it eagerly.

“Thank you my lord.”

“Think of it as nothing.”

He nodded again and quickly fled the room. I sighed as I got up and looked out the window. A duke and a baron had called upon her. Maybe I should worry about my chances after all.

**********

Finally the nights feast had came and I hoped it would go slowly. I did not wish war for anyone’s sake but knew what my orders had been and I was to keep them. I walked into the ball room and made small talk with those around me. The questions were all the same, was it true I would ask of war? I only shrugged of the matter and tried to reach for a safer subject, one no one was interested in. It was then that Lady Zaria, along with her two sisters, had blessed the court with their beauty. All three of them looked regretful to be there, and it amazed me how Zaria managed to keep a brave face while her sisters tried to flee from the room. Finally her first suitor came, the Duke, and I watched her in interest. She seemed bored with all that was going on around her. The Duke carried on with what seemed like idle things and Zaria nodded her head with what looked like boredom. I smiled as a servant grabbed my attention. “My lord,” he bowed and looked toward me.

“The King wishes to speak to you.”

I nodded, glanced at Zaria once more, and walked to Arthur. “Your Highness.” I bowed.

Arthur sighed. “You want this meeting to still happen, do you not?”

“Yes, your grace.”

“I pray that it is good news.”

“No hints, your grace. You shall find out with the rest of your men.”

He nodded and waved me off, grabbing another goblet of wine. I walked back to my seat and I was going to continue my conversation with an older Duke when I heard a loud slap behind me. Curious I turned and saw the man that Zaria was eating with, fall to the floor. She watched him in astonishment, before bending to help him.

“Duke Chalence has passed out!” Someone screamed.

Many rushed to the sight and I got up as well. Who knows what Zaria has done now. When I reached the scene Zaria held the old Dukes head in her lap, throwing water on him.

“Excuse me.” I said, parting way in the little crowd.

At the sound of my voice Zaria looked up. “He will not stir.” She sighed.

I nodded and grabbed an onion that was nearby. I cut it open and held it under the old mans nose. Soon he began to move and another helped to lead him to the sanitarium. The crowd quickly departed and I helped Zaria to her feet. “How did you know that would wake him?” She asked as I offered my arm. She quickly took it and I led her out of the busy dining hall.

“It is an old Italian trick.”

“Oh.” She turned her eyes from me straight ahead.

“What did you do to make him pass out?” I asked, studying her. She sighed as we walked outside. “The old geezer was trying to feel on me. I had only meant to slightly tap him; I didn’t think I knock the wind out of him.”

I laughed and she smiled up at me. “What?”

“I have never met a woman as vicious as you. I do not know who is more dangerous, your sister Gabriella or you.”

She laughed along with me. “I wish I could tell you but even I cannot. Me and Gabriella have had our fights and both times have been most horrid for the both of us. I guess we are both dangerous, in our own way.”

I nodded and stopped walking. “I do not think he will be asking for your hand.”

“It is better that he does not. He wants many kids and I would find a way to make it so he may not give me any.”

I laughed even more and touched her face. “I have not laughed as much as I have tonight. I can only pray for what you do to your next suitor.”

“Nay, my next suitor shall not worry as much as Calib. I have many words for him, and if he will not listen than I will show him the anger I have towards him.”

“That I would pay to see.”

“Aye, I’m sure you would.”

Her eyes shone under the moonlight and I brought my other hand to her face. “In either case, I will try to be near. I hope no harm on you.”

“I will be fine, Gabriel. I know how to take care of myself.”

“Still I will worry. I hope no harm on beauty such as yours.” I whispered as I softly stroked her face.

She brought one of her hands to mine and asked, “Must you always marvel at my beauty? Is that all you see of me?”

“I see much more, my love, but your beauty hinders me the most. If not that, you’re eyes or your smile. You keep me from sleep at the thought of you.”

“You lie.” She started to blush and looked down, dropping her hand.

I raised her face toward me and looked down at her. “I would not lie to a face such as yours. I mean what I said about you, no matter what you think.”

“You do not know my thoughts. You barely know me.” Her face was coming closer to mine and I felt my heart stop.

“If I do not know you, then my heart wills that I learn.” I whispered. I felt her breath on my lips and my mouth stung to taste her. Just then her mother came, yelling, “Zaria, you must come!!”

Zaria pulled from me quickly and turned to her mother. “What is it mother?”

Her mother touched her face, tears gleaming in her eyes.

“It is your sisters. Isabella is in the sanitarium and Gabriella is with Blaine.”

“What has happened mama?” There was worry in her voice and her mother quickly answered.

“I do not know why Isabella has passed out, but she is not responding. And Gabriella, one of her suitors has tried to hurt her and in the process she has stabbed him. Knight Briar is badly wounded but she needs you right now. She is shocked.”

Zaria sighed and nodded. “I will come quickly.”

She turned back to me and gave me a sad smile. “I am sorry, but I must tend to my sisters.”

I nodded and looked toward her mother. She did not look like she would take leave so I whispered in Zaria’s ear, “I will not hold you from your sisters, but consider this. I was not joking when I said I would take you to Vespar. I would care for you and rid you of this life.”

I pulled from her and straightened my posture. “’Till morning, my lady.” I grabbed her hand and kissed it before quickly turning around and leaving her to her mother.

Series
Like

About the Creator

Kimmie Hite

Born in the Philippines as a military brat I grew up as a kid exposed to all walks of life and cultures. Currently, working on releasing self published book while living with lupus nephritis as a single mother waiting for transplant

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.