Fiction logo

Subsistent Lies

Chapter 28: Gabriella

By Kimmie HitePublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

I was surprised to find myself well enough to be able to spend the day with my second suitor, but I was; only because Blaine had not left my side until Zaria had come to retrieve me. It seemed that my first impression of him had been unjust. I didn’t think there was anyone left in this world that could match up to papi and then Blaine came along. True he appeared arrogant when I first met him, but the past few days I had seen the caring gentle side of him. I walked outside to a day that should have been glorious for writing in the woods had I not have someone to call upon me this morning. I walked stubbornly to the stables where my second suitor Baron Jed awaited with his horse and my horse hitched. “My lord what is it that you have in mind for this morning?”

“I have heard that you enjoy nature, I thought it best that I got to know you in a setting that would be most agreeable with you my lady.” He said bowing.

“I am not a woman to take lightly, but I do not pose a threat unless I feel threatened my lord.” I said mounting.

“Better safe than dead, my lady.” He said mounting his horse.

I smiled and followed in his wake as he kicked his horse forward. Throughout our ride I was surprised to learn that Jed had a passion for nature as well as music. If we had met under different circumstances I believe I could have fallen for him, if my heart had not been taken by another. When we returned from our ride, he kissed my hand and bided me farewell. “It is too bad we had not met sooner Jed.” I whispered heading towards the castle to gain energy to be in company with Colin.

“Might I accompany my lady to the castle.” A figure said falling in step beside me.

I smiled and turned towards the figure. “Why is it everywhere I turn you are there Blaine?”

“Because you seem to need more protection than King Arthur’s daughters.” Blaine said. I laughed thinking that he meant it as a joke to what happened yesterday, but he looked at me with a stern expression. “I’m serious Gabby.”

I stopped in my tracks and frowned. “I appreciate what you did for me last night, but I assure you I am fine. I have learned to control my temper so that I do not offend the wrong people.” I said waving the matter off.

Blaine grabbed my hand so fast and rough that I jumped startled. “I’m serious Gabby.” He said gruffly his eyes turning that startling black. Seeing the fright in my eyes he let my hand go. “Sorry Gabby I just don’t want anything to happen to you.” He said a little more gently.

“I assure you nothing will happen once I am married.” I said rubbing my wrist.

“Are you sure?”

“What do you mean if I’m sure? Of course I’m sure. Whoever marries me will protect me or suffer the wrath of the King.”

Blaine heaved a sigh. “Gabby last night the fact you are favored by the King did not stop one of Arthur’s own knights from attempting to kill you.”

“No, but now Briar is suffering the utmost of consequences along with those who put the thought within his mind.”

“I worry for you Gabby, you know that right?”

“Aye I do, but there is nothing to worry about once I am….”

“Your suitors offer you nothing, but wealth! There is no security! One has already tried to kill you! Is that enough to protect you from those that might envy you to the point of death!” He yelled at me.

I looked at him stunned. “I can take care of myself.”

“Can you, really? To what extent will you go to protect yourself?”

“I will kill if need be.” I said bravely knowing it to be a lie.

“I saw the fear in your eyes after you stabbed Briar.” Blaine took my hands in his. “Gabby you are not a killer. It is not in you.”

“And who are you to tell me what is and what isn’t in me.” I said snatching my hands away from him.

Blaine only stared at me and shook his head. “I told you yesterday that I would challenge you to a match that would cost more than just honor, so I challenge you to that match now.” I looked at him remembering well that conversation. “Turn down all your suitors and ask the King to have me for a husband.”

“And what pretell do you have to offer that my suitors have not?”

“Life.” Was his curt response. I folded my arms and stared at him. “Briar has tried to kill you, Jed is a young, naïve Baron who is too young to know how to run his land, and who will most likely lose his land to one of his cousins, and Colin,” I snorted at the name, but Blaine continued, “should you choose him and it turns out Duke Gabriel is not bluffing, anyone associated with him and his family will suffer their same fate. I, Gabriella Fairavard,” he bowed low to me, “offer you wealth, security, and life free of wifely duties.” My arms dropped to my side. “It is your choice, but if I know you like I hope I do, you will not be foolish as to throw your life away because it is what your mother wants. I challenge you to pick between life or death. I bid you well, my lady.” He said taking my hand, kissing it, and then turning and leaving me.

Did he think me stupid! I thought walking back towards the castle. True I didn’t have it in me to kill, but I was able to take care of myself. I proved that last night. I shivered as I remembered how it felt to plunge the dagger into Briar and then see him on the ground bloody and not moving. I walked up to me, my mother, and my sisters chambers. Going to the writing desk I began to right the pros and cons of what Blaine had said. As I sat there staring into oblivion I realized that I could only find pros; there was no flaw in his offer. Then why is it I do not want to take his offer? I sighed and went to bed dreading my next suitor’s company.

Series
Like

About the Creator

Kimmie Hite

Born in the Philippines as a military brat I grew up as a kid exposed to all walks of life and cultures. Currently, working on releasing self published book while living with lupus nephritis as a single mother waiting for transplant

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.