Fiction logo

Steadfast Until the End

For L.C. Schafer's Fucked Up Fairytales Challenge

By CatsidhePublished 22 days ago 2 min read
2
Steadfast Until the End
Photo by Nicola Nuttall on Unsplash

Steadfast was I made, and steadfast will I remain, though all my brothers be taken from me, I think, as I ready myself for the next volley.

We were his favorite, once. Five and twenty shiny soldiers, all in a row in our tin box. Oh, we cut a fine figure, standing upright and proud.

Even I, despite my single leg, a mishap of the casting, stood at dutiful attention.

Those were halcyon days, days of fierce battles with the Doll Kingdom. Then, at the end of the day, when the master went to bed, we would dance and reminisce of the day's glories.

Well, they would dance, and I would watch. I was the lookout. Many's the time I would sound the alarm for invading ants, saving our tea cakes from pilfering.

Every time we repelled the invaders, I would catch the lovely dancer looking at me as my brothers slapped my back in commendation.

But that was long ago. Boys grow up and become destructive.

The missions steadily became more dangerous. We were pummeled with marbles as we advanced. Many of us bore new dents.

Then, the missions took us to the rivers and swamps. Some of my brothers were washed away, never to return. They were the fortunate ones. I like to think they may still be out there, somewhere.

Still, we all remained steadfast, as we were built to be, loyal to our master.

Then he developed a predilection for fire.

We marched through mine fields. Dents became chips. One day, he managed to pinch his father's butane torch. Many of my brothers did not survive that day. The end of the day brought memorials rather than dancing. Still, my lady's gazes served as a balm to my soul.

Until she became kindling to light his latest pyrotechnics.

Now, I stand alone, the last of my brethren, as he fires at me from his pellet gun.

Revelation strikes me. Loyalty is a disease, and I'll cut it from me, but not before I cut his cruel heart from his chest.

In the morning, a shriek rings through the house. The boy's heart lies on his desk, under a mangled lump of tin.

~

A link to the challenge: Fucked Up Fairytales.

For those who've never read it, a link to the inspiration for this story.

HorrorMicrofictionFantasy
2

About the Creator

Catsidhe

Pronounced Cat-she: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cat-s%C3%ACth

What can I say about myself?

A mystery wrapped in an enigma wrapped in a walking coffin

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • G. A. Botero21 days ago

    So much fun to read. I wasn't sure where it was going but I enjoyed the ride. Thanks for sharing.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.