Fiction logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Speedkill

A Nightmare For The Vocal 3 AM Challenge

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 8 days ago 2 min read
An AI Creation By The Author

Every night it happens and each time I end up hitting the floor hard.

The dream always has the same outcome, I get hit by a car.

I know it is going to happen, and I feel my bones crack as it hits me full on and I am smashed and land on the road. The vehicle is about to run over me but I am awake so I stay alive but very shaken.

it is always late at night and I am out walking but I am not sure why. At some point, I cross a road or street and then I am hit by the car and and wake just before it runs over me.

Why do I never see it?

I know my Green Cross Code.

I always look and listen before I cross a road.

But it is dark.

There are no street lights.

But I am still careful, and there is enough moonlight to see.

The car comes unexpectedly, and silently.

Why do I never hear it and only see it as it hits me?

This has been going on for weeks.

I am frightened to go to sleep.

I am also scared that when I am thrown out of bed I am going to break something, an arm or a leg.

That would mean that I lose my job and I can't afford to do that, because that would mean I would be homeless.

And I am out again.

I know it is the dream once more.

The car will hit me when I cross a road, maybe not this one, but it will happen.

And then again.

Bang.

It smashes into me, crushing my ribs as I hit the road once more.

I always look to see if I can see who is driving it, but I never see anyone. It could be a driverless car, which makes me a little more scared.

I wake up as I hit the floor.

I am bleeding and bruised, I landed on my face and that started a bad nosebleed. Nothing is broken but the blood has made a lot of a mess.

I know I will get a good night's sleep now the nightmare is over, but I know that the story will be exactly the same tomorrow night.

If I knew when it was coming I could stop the nightmare, but it comes out of nowhere, silently and then hits me.

There must be some reason, some obvious explanation, and then it starts to dawn on me.

The damned car is electric, fully electric, so no sound and no petroleum smell, and because it has no lights on, no visual sign that the car is there.

So I have to be aware that my vehicular nemesis is an almost invisible car,

Now I am armed with that knowledge, maybe I will be a little safer in my nightmares.

So I am in bed, and I switch out the light.

Who knows what tonight will bring.....

Short StoryMicrofiction

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales & Poems

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudeyAnna

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Carol

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Ameer Bibi8 days ago

    Ooopppsssss Looking like a scary dream I am always afraid of this kind of thoughts

  • It's like a ghost car hahahhaa. Loved your story!

Mike Singleton - MikeydredWritten by Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.