Fiction logo

Somnolentitude

n. The peaceful feeling of being half-asleep just before drifting off completely

By BurkPublished 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read
5
Somnolentitude
Photo by Ann Danilina on Unsplash

I slowly sank into the plush hotel bed, the day’s travels heavy on my eyelids. Stretching out my tired limbs, I relaxed into the soft down comforter. The murmur of voices and clinking of glasses from the restaurant downstairs floated up through the open window, mingling with the gentle susurrus of the ceiling fan.

As sleep approached, the sounds began to blur together. The melodic tones of a woman laughing. Ice cubes clinking in glasses, reminiscent of wind chimes. A whispered “I love you,” followed by a contented sigh. The rhythmic whir of the fan blades overhead.

My breathing deepened. Muscles unclenched. With each exhale, my body melted further into the mattress. My thoughts drifted, becoming disjointed. I hovered in that liminal space between waking and dreaming, senses dulled but still vaguely aware.

I let the somnolentitude embrace me, welcoming the tranquility. No worries could reach me here. The stresses of the day evaporated. There was only this peaceful oasis of near-sleep, where nothing mattered beyond the comfort of the soft bed.

Another breath. A final thought flitted through my mind and then fluttered away. The sounds faded into silence. I surrendered to slumber.

Short Story
5

About the Creator

Burk

Dad of 5.

Full-time writer from Germany.

Read more from me

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran7 months ago

    That was so relatable! Somnolentitude is so blissful! Loved your story!

  • Novel Allen7 months ago

    I almost fell asleep, so peaceful to read. Lovely word, sounds familiar.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.