Fiction logo

Snowy Tales

Microfiction

By KelPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
5
Snowy Tales
Photo by Samuel on Unsplash

The snow fell relentlessly, each flake a frozen memory settling on the desolation around me. I sought refuge in this isolated cabin, hoping the quiet would drown out the cacophony in my mind. But the snow had a different plan, turning serenity into a sinister stage.

The fireplace crackled, casting feeble light that danced eerily on the walls. Shadows whispered secrets, and the mirror reflected a distorted version of myself, a fractured soul laid bare. The chill outside crept inside, finding its way into the deepest recesses of my being.

As night descended, so did the weight of my past. Footprints materialized in the snow, leading to the door, but I was alone. The cabin groaned with the weight of forgotten sins, and the wind carried voices—echoes of mistakes I longed to erase.

Pacing, I felt the room shrinking, the air thickening with the phantoms of regret. The walls seemed to close in, and my reflection contorted into grotesque shapes. Laughter, haunting and distant, reverberated in the stillness.

Reality blurred, and the snow, once a tranquil quilt, transformed into a suffocating shroud. The footsteps outside mocked my isolation. The psychological horror of my past played out in the silent landscape, an icy abyss from which escape was impossible.

thrillerMicrofictionHorror
5

About the Creator

Kel

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe O’Connor3 months ago

    This piece is well-written and I like the way you use winter’s imagery to create a spooky, tortured feel. I like this line too- “The fireplace crackled, casting feeble light that danced eerily on the walls.”

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    This is really well done. The tension builds from beginning to end and leaves me wondering what comes next. Great job.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.