Fiction logo

Snowmelt

Sublimation

By Gerard DiLeoPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
Fast Thaw

Ice becomes water vapor in a process called sublimation. It seldom happens with snow on the ground, which first melts into liquid.

I just couldn't bring myself to leave this mountain cabin, although I knew I was free to do so. I looked out of the window continuously, fixated on--and compelled by--the strange mound of snow several yards away.

It was cylindrical, about 6 feet long and 2-3 feet wide. Flat, smooth snow rose at a steep angle, then rolled over it only to descend again to flatness on the other side in a tight-fitting, hugging robe of white.

It was high noon, and the gray sky was overcast with thick clouds. A brisk wind moved them quickly overhead from East to West toward me.

Then I noticed a break in the clouds heading on that same East-West track. When it was closer, I could see a bright, white spot of sunshine rolling down the mountainside, the shadow-brightness interface undulationg like a rollercoaster cart. Following the light, I figured it would soon be over my cylindrical snow mound.

When the snow melted, I'd finally be able to know what that was, underneath. It was the curiosity there that held me fast until I could know. I waited.

Hardly sublimation, it was still a fast thaw when it happened. An optical illusion showed a body rising instead of the snow receding.

It was me. I was right. I had no more unfinished business here. Now I could leave.

For the sublime.

HorrorMicrofiction

About the Creator

Gerard DiLeo

Retired, not tired. In Life Phase II: Living and writing from a decommissioned church in Hull, MA. (Phase I was New Orleans and everything that entails. Hippocampus, behave!

https://www.amazon.com/Gerard-DiLeo/e/B00JE6LL2W/

[email protected]

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Andrea Corwin 5 months ago

    Ah, he was finally able to move on. Nice work!!

  • C. Rommial Butler5 months ago

    As many lovely shades of meaning here as layers of snow. Well-wrought!

  • Oooo, this was soooo fascinating! I certainly wasn't expecting that twist! Loved it so much!

  • I had wanted to visit the concept of "going to the light" by having the light come to him. Also, the mythos about ghosts hanging around because of unfinished business. Two for one.

  • Joe Patterson5 months ago

    Great description.

Gerard DiLeoWritten by Gerard DiLeo

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.