Fiction logo

Shifters

A Tale Of Lavendale

By Analesia GiammussoPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 6 min read
Like
Shifters
Photo by Sergei A on Unsplash

"There weren't always dragons in the valley." Her voice took me off guard. I was tasked with labeling dried herbs and sorting them for different reasons. All of my attention was to it. Lyrina hadn't allowed me to use fresh ones for comparison. Her shawl was wrapped around her shoulders. Her fingers intertwined with the frayed edges. Sage colored eyes were crinkled as she stared with concentration. High above the forest, just in a break of the crown, a dragon could be seen. It soared in a large circle occasionally disappearing from view.

"I thought I wasn't privy to that story yet." With a smug grin I continued tying off bundles and pinning them to parchment; scrawling their names below. Suddenly, the twine unraveled. Groaning in despair I raked my dirty hand through even dirtier hair. "Why?" My mentor peered at me over her shoulder with her own smug grin. "Magic is so unnecessary..." I muttered as I fixed what she had done.

"And yet, Borin, it is what gives us life and purpose. If you practiced you would be grateful for it."

"Says the prankster and one making my life hellish." Sticking my tongue out at her back it suddenly was pulled into my mouth, stuck to the roof of it and my lips shut. It felt uncomfortable. As if someone had glued them yet pinched them at the same time.

"If you wish to hear the story that you're not privy to, I suggest you hush. And quit with the constant 'woe is me'. You were selected out of twenty children." I glared at her as she came to inspect my work. As her hand brushed my shoulder, much like a mother, I relented. We both knew she picked me for my wit and ability to question things. Lyrina Wolfsbane was regarded as one of the best Wielders in Lavendale. People from all over came, presenting their children hoping for her to train them. She picked the child from humble parents that had a chip on their shoulder and not the best knack for magic.

Her eyes were dark. When comfortable that was her tell. She was living a different time. Knowing she would speak when good and ready, I grabbed a different bundle of mixed herbs and began sorting. "That's not goldenhop." Her voice was short. Correcting. Feeling irritated with myself she waved her hand over the other three. They slowly changed color, deepening and some blooming. Fully back to life the room filled with fragrance. If it was the plants or part of her magic I couldn't tell. "Those are right." A softer tone. Complimenting. Satisfied my smugness returned.

Suddenly the air felt thick. My mouth was freed as Lyrina said, "Be ready Borin. Listen. Watch. Don't speak." She moved to the back corner of the shop which held space for a wooden sculpture that modeled a wolf. Bits of stone had been magically woven in. Removing her shawl she revealed to be wearing trousers, a black tunic top and leather apron. This time I knew magic was used. I could feel it prickle my skin. Everyone had a signature to their magic when used heavily. Hers was soothing at times like water. Others it was charged.

"Madam of the house, are you there?" A voice that was trying to come from authority sounded from the oak door. He sounded unsure of what might actually be behind the door. "Mada--" The door swung open. Fist raised to the missing surface. Trying to hide his shock Lyrina and I made eye contact and smirked.

"Honestly Rhys, your patience hasn't gotten any better." He wrung his hands together and had a grimace of a smile. Hesitantly he stepped inside, waving a hand behind him at the iron clad soldiers. Lyrina raised her eyebrows at them and set Rhys in her sights. He merely shrugged.

"It wasn't my call, Rina." The second the name left his lips he ducked his head like a child who regretted their decision.

"You do not get to use that name." Her eyes were dark green. Set hard like stones. The movements she used against the wood to shape the wolf became sharp and deep. Sighing heavily she threw her tools to the table and turned to face him, braid swinging around. She was a storm in a woman.

"I did not come to argue or start anything." Hands came up softly, surrendering. A softness was held at his eyes as he looked at her. They knew each other. They knew each other well. Gathering the herbs together I moved them further down my work table and went to my traveling pouches. Tumeric. Goldenhop. Ragweed. Thistle. Asher root. Aids to spells and if mixed appropriately it could help with cloaking. "Before you say anything, Lyrina, the Queen has sent for you. She needs you."

She snorted. "I don't know what Queen Talis could use from me. Retired Rhys. We all know that."

"They won't join again if you don't. You know that." They stood there facing one another having a conversation all their own. Both refusing to relent. I could see in my mentor's face that she knew he was right. She just didn't like it.

"I don't even know where they all are." Lie. She was lying to him. I could taste it. It was bitter.

"Then please help us find them." She considered him for a moment then waved her hand dismissively and turned back to her wolf. His face fell. He was truly disappointed. The emotion was on him like a cloak. Hope was there, a small flame, he had believed she would join whatever cause it was. Within moments he stood tall and the voice he was trying to accomplish earlier was there. "Well, I will tell the Queen of your decline and we'll seek out Gresh." The light that was through the trees vanished. Clouds covered the opening in the crown. Rhys stood tall while his men grabbed at the hilt of their swords. Panic struck them as childhood fears raced about them. A soft light emitted from them collectively. Forming a bubble. I scoffed. They left their captain unprotected.

"Gresh will do what is best for Gresh." Lyrina slowly turned as she took a deep breath hand pressed to her forehead. The clouds started to dissipate. "I will think about it. A lot is at risk getting the Shifters in one place. We separated for a reason."

"I know." They shared a painful connection to it. Something lost. Shrouded in sorrow. Giving her a short bow, Rhys lifted his eyes through a mop of brown hair. "I'll give Talis your response, Rina." A smirk of admiration. Straightening he left the workshop, shutting the door behind him with his hand.

"The Shifters...." It took longer than it should have. All of it was there. Slowly the thought knitted together in my mind as I brought my gaze from my work table to Lyrina. "You. You led the Guard that fought the wars." Leaning against her table and arms folded across her chest, Lyrina Wolfsbane gave me a sad smirk and shrugged.

"We all led together. Gresh however..." Trailing off I could see past memories flooding her. "Well, I might as well start packing. The Greats know I'll be going."

"Aye, that is why I've started for you." Gathering the leather parcels I brought them to her extended hands.

"This is why you were picked from twenty." Tousling my hair she folded her hands around the pouches and they disappeared to who knows where. "Now, do you want to know why dragons are in the valley?"

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Analesia Giammusso

Trying to find balance in my life! Exploring new opportunities, life choices and self love. Wanted a place to document my journey. So, here we go.

Adventure is out there!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.