Fiction logo

Scented Betrayal

Can love prevail?

By Alexandra IloejePublished 11 months ago 3 min read
1
Photo from Pexels by Taryn Elliott

I couldn't believe my luck. There she was, the girl from the bookstore opposite my house, standing just a few feet away from me. I had admired her from afar for so long, enchanted by her beauty and captivated by her infectious laughter. Every time I went to buy a book, she was there, a ray of sunshine standing with some books in her hands and chatting with her friends. But I had never mustered the courage to approach her, to engage in a meaningful conversation and get to know her better. Until today.

Today was the day I decided to break free from my self-imposed shell of shyness and take a chance. I had rehearsed countless conversations in my mind, envisioning all the witty remarks and charming anecdotes I would share with her. And finally, the moment arrived. My heart raced as I took a deep breath and approached her, ready to introduce myself.

“Hi!” I said. “I’m Xavier.”

But as soon as she opened her mouth, I was hit by an overwhelming odor that seemed to permeate the air around her. It was her breath, an unbearable stench that instantly invaded my nostrils and assaulted my senses. I tried my best to stay composed, to push past the unpleasant smell, but it was impossible. Her breath, tainted with a foul stench, instantly shattered the enchanting image I had built in my mind. She had said her name but I couldn’t hear her because her breath had blurred my senses making it impossible for me to understand anything happening around me.

Suddenly, everything about her seemed flawed and irritating. Gone were the thoughts of her beauty and charm. Her laughter, once delightful and infectious, now grated on my nerves. How could a girl so beautiful have such repugnant breath? It was incomprehensible to me, a cruel twist of fate that shattered my illusions in an instant. Maybe it smelled so bad because of what she had eaten.

I struggled to maintain a conversation, my mind clouded by the overwhelming scent that lingered between us. I forced a smile, nodding at her jokes and attempting to engage, but my efforts were in vain. Each passing second only intensified my discomfort, making it impossible to see past her breath and appreciate the person behind it.

With a heavy heart, I excused myself, cutting our conversation short.

“I’m sorry, I just forgot I had to do something important. Bye.” I could hear her say something as I turned to leave, but I didn’t wait any longer to know what she said.

I retreated to the safety of my home, consumed by disappointment and frustration. How could something so trivial overshadow all the qualities that had initially captivated me?

As the days went by, I found it increasingly difficult to even glance at the store without feeling a tinge of resentment. The girl I had once admired from afar became a reminder of my disappointment and my inability to look beyond superficial flaws. It was a bitter pill to swallow, a lesson learned the hard way.

In the end, I couldn't deny the truth. The allure that had drawn me to her had faded, replaced by an insurmountable obstacle in the form of bad breath. I had thought to approach her once more and politely let her know about her bad breath, but how will I do that without getting her upset? Maybe someday I will. In the meantime, I resigned myself to watching her from a distance once again, forever wondering what could have been if it weren't for that unfortunate discovery.

Short StoryLove
1

About the Creator

Alexandra Iloeje

Just a voracious reader and writer with a passion for crafting stories and sharing knowledge. I strive to engage and inspire readers with meaningful content that resonates with them on a deep level. Horror and romance are my lovers.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.