Fiction logo

A Writer’s Life

Writer vs Writer’s block

By Alexandra IloejePublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
Photo by Geralt on Pixabay

Here I am, pacing around the room like a maniac. Nothing was coming in. Nothing! A wall had etched its way into my brain. I was trapped! Just when I think I've seen a light of inspiration, it dies down and never returns. The darkness has been my companion, my very best friend. I ruffle my hair and stare at my laptop with a blank expression, arms crossed and brows knitted in frustration. Anger boils within me as a millionth heavy sigh escapes my lips. I stretch and walk around the house to know if anything will inspire me. Yet, my brain is blank. I feel nothing. Except for the wall stopping me from escaping. I retire to my room again and hit my leg on the bed in anger, but I don't feel the pain. The DARKNESS is the pain. I'm restless and wish someone will come to rescue me.

I sit on the chair and stare at the blank page again, it stares back. Then in my imagination, a grinning face appears, taunting that I will never win.

"Ha-ha!" It laughs with every pulse, "You don't even know where to begin!"

"Why can't you just leave me alone!" I scream.

"Leave you alone? Babe, I enjoy being with you." It laughs again.

"Who do you think you are? My boyfriend or girlfriend?!" I yell, getting up from my chair in anger.

"No. Your old friend, writer's block." It smirks.

I scream and hold my head with both hands. “No! This is not happening.” I mutter, gasping for air.

Photo by Andrea piacquadio on Pexels

I have unwillingly let writer's block creep into my mind again, uninvited. It's gonna strangle me. I knew it! The darkness had replaced my senses with a paralyzing fear. What if I'm not a writer? What if I'll remain blocked forever? These questions linger in my mind.

"Ughrr!" I groan and plop down on the bed.

My Mama comes in. "Darling, are you alright? Finding it difficult with your Maths assignment again? I can help you." She smiles, but I know she's worried.

"I'm good, Mama. And I'm writing no assignment," I smile back.

"Alright then. Come down for lunch." She walks out and closes the door.

I stand up from my bed and walk straight to my laptop, still staring at the blank page. Why is nothing coming in?! I need to write!

"I told you, you can't win." The voice says again.

"Get out of my mind!!" I scream louder.

"Ha! Keep screaming. You're making me stronger. Don't stop fighting it!" It beams.

"I hate you!!"

“Ouch! That’s a strong word.”

“Get out!”

"You can't win!!" It laughs louder, its voice echoing in my head.

I grab my phone from the stool beside my bed and retrieve my headset from under my pillow. Plugging it in, I search for a soothing song that’ll calm my nerves and block my mind from the voice inside my head. But I am too agitated and pissed off that I can’t listen to the music anymore. Taking it off my ears, I drop my phone on the bed and sit down in front of my laptop. My readers are waiting for me. I have to write!

But it was of no use, so I slam the laptop and groan, rubbing my temples with both fingers. I have so many ideas, but they're covered in fog like a thriving city masked by mist. No phrase to pen it down. Panic sets in. Maybe I will never write again. Maybe no one will ever notice me. I wipe a tear that flows down my left cheek and take in a deep breath. No! I won't let it win. I have to break this wall that has trapped me in the dark. I need to search for inspiration that'll finally set me free. Out of here, out of this damn dungeon. Maybe a light will finally come to show me the way. Just one day. But that was exactly what I had said yesterday. And today nothing has changed. SO I ENDED UP WRITING NOTHING.

Young AdultShort StoryMysteryHumor
1

About the Creator

Alexandra Iloeje

Just a voracious reader and writer with a passion for crafting stories and sharing knowledge. I strive to engage and inspire readers with meaningful content that resonates with them on a deep level. Horror and romance are my lovers.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Pepe Magicabout a year ago

    Dear Alexandra Iloeje, I just finished reading your article and I must say, it was an excellent piece of writing! Your insight and expertise on the subject really shone through and I found myself nodding along with everything you had to say. As a fellow writer on Vocal Media, I always appreciate reading articles that are well-researched and thoughtfully written, and your work certainly fits the bill. I would love it if you could take a moment to check out some of my own articles on https://vocal.media/authors/pepe-magic and let me know what you think. Thank you for sharing your knowledge and expertise with the Vocal Media community. I look forward to reading more of your work in the future. Best regards, Pepe Magic

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.