Fiction logo

Scarlett's Memories

Tying Flowers into Memories

By Rika LekayPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
2
Scarlett's Memories
Photo by Jacinto Diego on Unsplash

Beep! Beep! Beep! The alarm clock loudly screamed at six-thirty am in the quiet, yet quite a bright bedroom. A shadowy figure of a woman made her way to the window to look out upon it every morning. As the sun's rays caught onto the shadowy figure, turning her into a more colorful person. A dark-skinned, redhead who goes by the name, Scarlett, appeared. She looked outside the window and just gazed at the beautiful flowers in the meadow. There were flowers like roses, dandelions, lilacs. The dandelions always end up sparking a memory in Scarlett; remembering when she was a small child. She would always pick dandelions and give them to her mother in an affectionate way. Scarlett always gets this memory to trigger just by looking at the yellow dandelions. The roses symbolized most of her teenhood. Red roses symbolizing her romantic life. Pink roses symbolizing everyone she's had a crush on. Yellow roses symbolized her friendships, and the white roses symbolized her innocence, or what's left of it. However, there's only one flower that is quite unique in the meadow, in comparison to the other flowers in the field. The lilacs were typically to symbolize her passions and desires. Lavender is also Scarlett's favorite color. There was one single marigold, breezing in the wind, alone. Scarlett doesn't like to look at the marigold. She's filled with anger, pure hatred, and negative thoughts. Long story short, one of her exes cheated on her with a girl named Marie. Marie had a flower crown headband that was red, orange, and yellow; which is the same colors as the marigold in the meadow. On the day that Scarlett found out that her ex was seeing other women behind her back. Ever since then, she's always despised that fiery and lonesome marigold in the meadow. She cannot think of anything positive that the marigold brings so she thought it would be best to ignore the marigold altogether, but sometimes her eyes and mind wander back to that painful, heartbreaking memory when glancing over at the marigold.

"I despise you, stupid marigold. You curse me into remembering painful and heartbreaking memories that I'd rather not remember. I just want to move on from my past, but I can't because you're right there. Standing the meadow. Taunting me. Reminding me of my past where I was too stupid and naive to notice the obvious signs that he was cheating on me. Reminding me that he fell out of love with me and I have no idea why. Ugh, I hate you, marigold. I hate you, Marie. I hate everyone!" Scarlett screamed out the window. The gust of wind muffling her speech so that only she could hear herself scream. Reminding her of how alone she is in this world. Just like that shining, dancing marigold in the field.

Short Story
2

About the Creator

Rika Lekay

Hi! I'm currently 20 years old and I love to write short stories, poems, novels, and writing prompts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.