Fiction logo

Rumpel Stiltskin?

A Story I Made Up About Something That Really Happened

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a year ago 3 min read
8

Introduction

This is for a Vocal+Assist Challenge that you can read about here

The challenge is to write a piece of flash fiction of less than a thousand words (most of mine is). There is no specific genre but you MUST include the word 'Rumplestiltskin' somewhere in the story.

Vocal have a minimum number of words for most articles and the way to get round this is to submit the piece as a poem so you could get away with less than thirty words, and as I am using chat fiction it could be seen as a form of prose poetry, but I think with this long introduction and my actual story, the whole piece should pass the six hundred word minimum, It is a challenge but Tom Hardy did a whole film, "Locke" based on mobile phone texts so I should be able to breeze past this.

I thought I would use a chat fiction format which you can read about here, but this story is an example.

The Fictional Story

1: "Rumpelstiltskin? What sort of sname is that?"

2: "You know what it is, what it means, don't you?"

1: "No, it doesn't mean anything to me"

2: "Didn't your parents and teachers read you fairy tails as a child?"

1: "I hated books and stories, they were for kids"

2: "You were a kid, so they were meant for you weren't they?"

1: "I still hate books and I don't read, just watch a film, it's a lot easier. I even hate writing"

2: "But we write songs together and you scribble down music and chords and even lyrics so don't say that you hate writing, you love it"

1: "Yeah but I hate books, I don;t have a single book at home and I never will do. Books are just a waste of space and time"

2: "But what about when you have kids of your own, are you not going to let them read books. Surely you and your friends and family will buy books for them"

1: "Well I am single and I don't see that changing, I don;t want anyone permanent in my house or life, so there will be definitely no kids, and even if there were I'd just get an X-Box or PS whatever the latest number is, but streaming video. They wouldn't need anything else, especially not books"

2: "That is a terrible attitude to have, if you ever have a family. John Waters said 'If you get back to their place and they have no books, don't have sex with them', books are amazing things, they are a complete new universe to explore. Anyway back to Rumpelstiltskin, what's your objection to the name and do you want to know who Rumpelstiltskin was?"

1: "The name is cumbersome and too long, can you imagine going into a record shop and asking for the latest single by Rumpelstiltskin? I bet most people can't even pronounce it let alone remember it when they get into a record shop. Also think about printing on band T-Shirts and posters, that is a lot of letters

So who or what was Rumpelstiltskin?"

2: "Rumpelstiltskin was a creation of the Brothers Grimm..."

1: "I've seen Grimm, though just a few episodes"

2: "They were Danish story tellers, and Rumpelstiltskin was an imp who could turn straw into gold, but being an evil little sod he demanded the first born child as payment from the girl that he did the stuff for"

1: "Whatever, the name is still too long, why don't you shorten it?"

2: "Shorten it? What to?"

1: "Stiltskin"

2: "Actually that could work, want to go with that?"

1: "Yeah, let's do it"

ScriptShort Story
8

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    This was actually quite humorous and fun. Great job Mike!!!

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Delightful read!!! Loving it!!!💖💕

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    This was really fun, Mike! Great job!

  • I'm just so happy I grew up reading books as a child! I loved this humorous chat fiction!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    This was a fun piece, interesting read and brought light to another vocal-like group!

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    That was so cool! Great job!

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    I really enjoyed this! Great work with the chat fiction format! I've been wanting to try it at some point, you make it look easy. Loved it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.