Fiction logo

"Reunited on an Improbable Paradise"

A story of not so love

By Anna_K.Published 7 months ago 5 min read
1
"Reunited on an Improbable Paradise"
Photo by Meg Jenson on Unsplash

My world was spinning, and I couldn't stand without feeling dizzy. A strange mix of unpleasant scents assaulted my senses: burnt rubber and gasoline followed by the fresh, briny sea air. I retched as the intense light seared my eyes.

"Where am I?" I mumbled under my breath.

Stumbling away from a grassy area, I suddenly realized that I was standing on soft, warm sand. Sand? This was beyond baffling.

As I gazed at the smooth, lapping waves along the shore, my heart raced, and I struggled to remember how I'd ended up here. The memories were foggy, a blinding pain in a stark, sterile room followed by engulfing darkness and the whirl of mysterious machinery. And now, I was on a beach. But where was this place? Hawaii? The Maldives?

I looked up at the sky, taking in the breathtaking sight of fluffy white clouds against the pale sun in the clear blue sky. I hadn't expected to see something so beautiful ever again.

Breathing in the fresh, salty air, I shivered and dropped to my knees.

Cancer.

The word stirred something deep within me, reigniting a fading ember of memory. The flames of my past grew brighter, and I lay down on the warm sand, feeling the grains shift and mesh with my body.

The sound of seagulls crying in the distance was the last thing I heard before drifting off to sleep. But my rest was short-lived.

"Oy! What are you doing down there?" A voice jolted me awake, and I saw a man with long black and reddish dreads, a broad grin, and big brown eyes staring at me.

"I... uh, I'm not... I'm sorry," I stammered, getting up and stretching my back. "I was just resting. I'm not sure where I am."

The man, who introduced himself as Kaycee, looked back at me, a mixture of curiosity and warmth in his eyes. I felt strangely close to spilling out my life story to this stranger.

"What's your name?" he asked, extending his hand for a brief handshake.

"Matthew. Yours?" I replied.

"I'm Kaycee, man," he said, looking back at the sea after our handshake.

"Where... is this an island?" I asked, feeling a wave of nausea and dry heaving. I was entirely disoriented.

Kaycee placed a reassuring arm around my shoulder and urged me to calm down. "Whoa, there, friend."

I steadied myself, and Kaycee nodded. "Yeah, mate, it's an island. Not... not sure where I am, though."

We moved a few paces away from each other, and when his arm left my shoulder, I felt an odd sense of longing. I shook it off and asked, "Maybe we're stuck in a dream."

Kaycee chuckled, and my laughter joined his. "Get off it, mate. You're a bit of a funny duck, aren't you?"

"So-sorry," I said, still chuckling, "I just can't believe this. None of it feels real. Where are you from?"

"The UK," he replied, fumbling with a braid. I felt a sudden blankness in my mind.

"Uh, well... probably I'm from there too..." I mumbled, noticing his skeptical look.

"You don't remember where you're from? Where you were born? What about your family? Do you have family?" Kaycee asked, concern in his eyes.

I felt overwhelmed and couldn't find the words to respond. Kaycee's gentle expression and a sense of connection calmed me. "It's alright, man," I reassured him.

Kaycee got me back on my feet, and we continued our conversation. I discovered he remembered bits and pieces from before their arrival on the island. He recounted a stressful job, emergency situations, and a car crash.

As the night settled in, we built a makeshift shelter, started a fire, and shared a few coconuts. The chilly air made my teeth chatter, and we huddled together for warmth.

"Come closer, mate, and get warmer. That fire won't last too long," Kaycee said.

I moved in closer, and he wrapped his arms around me. "The sea looks so intense out there," I commented, and we inched even closer to each other as the fire crackled in the background.

"Matthew?" Kaycee's voice was soft.

"Yeah?" I replied.

"Do I know you?"

Our eyes met, and I tried to recall any memories related to him. "I'm trying to remember that... remember anything. But I think..." I began, and his dreads brushed against my shoulders. "I do, actually."

"What a weird thing to share a feeling without memory behind it," Kaycee said.

"Somehow... I remember a large machine covering me. It was helping me breathe..." I felt myself growing dizzy again, leaning against him.

"And I... was told I had cancer... an enlarged part of my body... and I was fainting a lot. In and out of the hospital," I explained. Kaycee's eyes bore into mine, and I felt my strength wane.

"Hyperplasia of the endocrine cells," he suddenly said, making me jump.

"Huh?" I murmured in a sleepy stupor.

"That's... what they said. They told us. What was wrong," Kaycee replied. I found myself drifting off to sleep, but his words resonated in my mind.

"Kaycee? Where are you going?" I asked as he stood up.

"Gotta find some stuff to make a fire, man," he replied.

I nodded and followed him as we searched for firewood. Eventually, we found a fallen tree and collected wood, but Kaycee's enthusiasm for finding coconuts was unmatched. He climbed a tree and tossed three of them down.

"You're a loon," I said with a smile, and he winked.

"Only the best people are, after all. How else can we deal with insanity?" he quipped.

"Maybe we're both in a coma," I suggested, and Kaycee laughed.

"In an impromptu, improbable paradise..." I continued, and he joined in my laughter.

As we set up a shelter and started a fire, I couldn't help but feel a strong connection with Kaycee. The warmth of the fire, the beauty of the night sky, and the familiarity in his eyes brought back a flood of memories. We shared stories, jokes, and moments of connection.

Finally, as the moon and stars covered us, we drew closer and kissed, beginning an endless night that felt like coming home.

"Matthew?" Kaycee whispered.

"Yeah?" I replied.

"Do I know you?"

I hesitated for a moment, then a rush of memories came flooding back. "You went to every appointment. You were always there for me, Kaycee, my dear."

"Why... why did you do that?" Kaycee asked with pain in his eyes.

"I felt so much pain, all the time... my heart. I didn't want to leave you," I confessed, tears in my eyes.

"Oh, my dear, I can't believe we're here together," Kaycee said, his voice filled with emotion.

"Maybe when we wake up, we'll still be together," I said, trying to sound hopeful.

"This island brought us home

Fantasy
1

About the Creator

Anna_K.

A soulful content writer who artfully intertwines the beauty of life, the depth of love, the intricacies of psychology, and the power of friendship in their words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.