Fiction logo

Repitrage

Repitrage - the intense swell of anger produced from having to repeat yourself one too many times

By D.K. ShepardPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
Runner-Up in the Neolomicro Challenge
9
Repitrage
Photo by David Pennington on Unsplash

Another test. I won't be the one taking the test and even so the prospect is exhausting. I scan the questions. Seriously, who writes these? And question three! None of those multiple choice options are even correct! Oh, there’s a note from the department chair:

Skip question three.

I sigh and then quickly muster a smile to greet the earliest arrivals for first period.

“Good morning, Jackie.”

“Good morning, Ms. Windham”

“Good morning, Tristan.”

Tristan grunts.

Me too, Tristan. Me too.

The rest of the students trickle in.

“Alright, class,” I declare. “Bad news is we have another test to take. Good news is there’s fifteen questions and one of them is a bad question so it’s only fourteen questions.”

A chorus of groans and sighs ensues.

“We are skipping question three. Everyone, find question three at the bottom of page one and cross it out.”

Jamaal raises his hand.

“Jamaal.”

“Which question are we skipping?”

“Question three.”

Shelby startles. “Wait! We’re skipping a question! Why? Which question?”

“Question three, because there’s a mistake in the question.”

Maria raises her hand.

“Maria.”

“We’re skipping question four?”

“Question three.”

“Three and four?”

“No, Maria. Just question three.”

Twelve minutes pass.

Tristan raises his hand.

“Tristan.”

“I don’t understand question three.”

I close my eyes. I see the color red, nuclear mushroom clouds, earthquake fault lines ripping open, forest fires, and landslides. The repitrage courses through my body. I take a deep breath. “We are skipping question three.”

Microfiction
9

About the Creator

D.K. Shepard

Character Crafter, Witty Banter Enthusiast, World Builder, Unpublished novelist...for now

Fantasy is where I thrive, but I like to experiment with genres for my short stories. Currently employed as a teacher in Louisville.

dkshepard.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Lamar Wiggins2 months ago

    Lol. Great word and Micro! The description of anger welling up was hilarious to me. And the entire scenario you created is realistic and relatable. Happy belated congrats on your placement!

  • Joe O’Connor2 months ago

    This is a brilliant word D.K. and I can relate all too well to this frustration haha! “Tristan grunts. Me too, Tristan. Me too.” sums it up pretty well. Love the story built around this word 🙌

  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    This made me laugh. I have definitely been in that room.

  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    Brilliant! Made me laugh out loud, D.K.! Been here so many times I'm surprised I'm not surrounded by scenes of devastation. Brilliant!

  • Alison McBain6 months ago

    This is hilarious and completely relatable.

  • Reiley6 months ago

    Oh my gosh, if this hasn't happened to me so many times! I experience repitrage on the daily with so many people! Congrats! This was funny and so relatable!

  • Test6 months ago

    . Well done! Keep pushing forward with your excellent work—congrats!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.