Fiction logo

Quirkasaurus

An old person trying to be “hip with the kids”

By Natasja RosePublished 8 months ago 1 min read
Quirkasaurus
Photo by Chino Rocha on Unsplash

"OMG, Grandpa, don't be such a Quirkasaurus!"

Emmet Swann didn't stop dancing, even as his grandchildren tried to pretend not to know him. There was a fine-looking dame, a grandmother or great aunt giving the parents a respite, smiling in his direction, and it put him in mind of the dance halls of his youth.

He winked at her and watched her stifle a flirtatious giggle. "What's a Quirkasaurus, lad? I don't remember that episode of the natural history documentary."

Rose, named for his sweet Rosalie, dead these past twenty years, tried not to roll her eyes. "A senior citizen trying to be cool, obviously. FYI, it isn't working!"

The dame, wearing the campaign service ribbon of a former WAC member, strolled over after a final admonishment of her own charges. "Oh, I don't know about that. Got space on your dance card, Soldier Boy?"

He bowed over her hand, like he was back in Paris in 1938. "For you, Nurse, my dance card is empty."

They ignored the chorus of dismay and horror, swinging into a barber shop quartet that they were definitely too old for, and quickly changing into a simple foxtrot.

Ah, what were grandchildren for, if not to embarrass? It was far better than trying (and failing) to be "hip with the young'uns", as the other retirees at the bowls club lamented.

HumorMicrofictionLovefamily

About the Creator

Natasja Rose

I've been writing since I learned how, but those have been lost and will never see daylight (I hope).

I'm an Indie Author, with 30+ books published.

I live in Sydney, Australia

Follow me on Facebook or Medium if you like my work!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Kendall Defoe 8 months ago

    I love this so much, and I intend to be that embarrassing when my nephew and niece settle down... ;)

  • The Dani Writer8 months ago

    Thank you for sharing Natasja! Would you mind providing a definition for 'quirkasaurus?' I think according to the guidelines, it has to be written in the subtitle.

  • And far better than to attempt to be a "Twerkasaurus". (Could throw a hip out that way.)

  • Lol, I shared the second hand embarrassment! Loved your word and story!

Natasja RoseWritten by Natasja Rose

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.