Fiction logo

Prephilonymity

[pree-FIL-o-nim-ih-tee] noun. The act of falling in love before even knowing a person’s name.

By Alana S. LeonardPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
3
Prephilonymity
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

ENGL 100B is a class of 50 students who all seem to know each other, and I sit alone near the back. I took this class because the one I wanted to take was full, and I’m a biology student who needs the credit.

I notice him first in the small crowd. Like the others, he sits talking with a couple other students. He wears a white t-shirt and blue jeans. His hair is chestnut brown, his skin a few shades lighter. His descriptors are average; he is not. He is beautiful. Intelligence lights up his eyes, humour forms the soft curve of his mouth.

The class settles as the professor writes on the chalkboard, then dives into Shakespeare’s sonnets. A lot of the language flies over my head, but I can see the brown-haired boy taking diligent notes. He writes with his left hand, and his fingers are long and slim. I wonder if he plays piano. He raises his hand at one point and discusses Sonnet 116, and I am struck by the softness of his voice and the eloquence of his argument. He reads a section of the poem aloud:

Love is not love

Which alters when it alteration finds,

Or bends with the remover to remove.

O no! it is an ever-fixed mark

That looks on tempests and is never shaken

He stops then, and the prof continues his lecture. As if the brown-haired boy can feel my gaze, he turns, and our eyes meet.

Microfiction
3

About the Creator

Alana S. Leonard

A long-time lover of reading and writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Hannah Moore6 months ago

    I can feel her fizzing!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.