Fiction logo

Planet Tetro ~ Page 16

Choices

By TerrencePublished 2 years ago Updated 10 months ago 3 min read
1

Luckily the map never got wet. I had it in one of my delivery containers. As I explained before, it is waterproof. I placed the map in one of them because it was the safest place to be in case of danger. I walked and guided with the map as my friends kept watch. After what we'd been through, our group was on guard. Bulls Eye trailed from the back with his bow, piercing the trees and Skys with a sinister intent from his sharp eyes. John led the way as I guided him with the map. He would also shower the landscape and sky with ill intent. I chuckled and thought to myself. I'm starting to love this new team of mine.

Before arriving at the Sapphire Cave, we had a ways to go, but I mapped out a nice straight path. At the most, we will have to walk through a small forest. This is what I would prefer, to have more cover from would-be scouts. I still needed to feel more comfortable sending another message. Only when we at least reach the cave. For all I know, the first message we sent could've been what it was that had us tracked in the first place. I want to consider everything. It's just how I am, especially after the events I experience in this line of work.

We started talking to each other as we walked. Our volatile tensions have eased up for now. John said, "So what are those small guys? Are those the little insect people that were said to be extinct? Ancient spells were created that poisoned them. It was a poison not strong enough to harm us larger beings. They were seen as world pests and were thought to be wholly eradicated. Some cultures were even said to eat them like a delicacy. Not us Cyclops, though; that sounds nasty! "

Bulls Eye and I didn't have much to add except that we agreed. It was our mutual agreement to worry about the little guys when we returned to the village. We haven't dealt with being attacked or stalked for almost a day. We decided to drink some water from our flasks and eat crackers. Some vegetables were sealed in a jar. We sat down on a log and took a small break. We all found our own areas to take a piss at.

When we approached the forest, there was something that was off about it. I alerted the others. "Wait! Do you guys pick up on the weird vibe? This forest is relatively quiet, as if either person had come before. They could also be lying, waiting for an ambush. Or they came and laid traps everywhere. It could also be a big animal that's a predator or multiple. Either way, something potentially dangerous scared away everything or, even worse, killed them. What do you guys want to do? "

John raised his hand as to be orderly. I respect that about both of them too. "I'm big-time pumped up and still mad about our night incident. Respectfully I'd love nothing but to beat up on some fools that think they can ambush me! I even found some rocks in the cave for those little guys !" Bulls Eye laughed a little, then said his opinion. "While I agree with John …. I think it would be best to look at the map and find a safer route. "

AdventureFableFantasyHorrorHumorLoveMysterySci FiSeriesShort StoryYoung Adult
1

About the Creator

Terrence

Releasing an ongoing online book called Zaigon. If you are new here I strongly reccomend you start reading from page 1(the oldest). Comic located at www.patreon.com/zaigon. Merch at https://digishoppe.creator-spring.com/listing/comic-zaigon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.