Fiction logo

Planet Tetro ~ Page 12

The Horror

By TerrencePublished 2 years ago Updated 10 months ago 2 min read
Like

After I asked those two questions, Bulls Eye started talking. "Okay, I'll answer you quickly because it's about to get real. You only slept for 2 hours, Bright, which is still decent for you. We were going to wake you up at 3. Regarding this army of little guys and maybe girls, it would be safe to say we have to get ready. They haven't blinked one time since we woke you up. Good thing we kept a small fire going, or we probably wouldn't have seen them. "

Right on cue, the number of eyes doubled as soon as he said that. Almost instantly after, we heard the culmination of many mini arrows being launched at once! The cave was far too shallow for cover. We had no time to react. We instinctively tried to block with our weapons. John with his club, me using my drill, and Bulls Eye using two of his throwing axes.

Neither of us did an excellent job at blocking the first assault, though. All three of our midsections and arms were covered in tiny arrows the size of needles. John let out a yell. "Ahhh!". Splash, I heard the sound of water, and simultaneously, we lost our light. They must've had a few enemies waiting close to us. They were waiting to put out our fire with some water. That must also mean they can track us in the dark. Either that, or It's easy for them to track big things.

"Grab your bags, fellas. We're leaving!" I yelled. I decided to set my drill to dig mode and attack the thin side of the cave. I told the other two to help me because I needed to figure out precisely how thick the walls were. I ran to the wall with my friends on opposite sides of the drill. At the same time we pushed, the drill broke through the wall, and we dived out because it collapsed a little. We ran to a plain field. While we were running, some bug people jumped on us, stabbing and poking with tiny spears and swords. "The nerve of these fiends!" Bulls Eye Yelled with a growl.

While running and when we stopped at the field, we were plucking off bug guys and their tiny weapons that were being lodged into our skin! We could barely keep track of each other in the dark. So it was damn near impossible to see the bug people that were strategically attacking us. In case they had any better ideas, I started thinking aloud. "We have to get some light and cover, guys. Let's find some branches and make a fire on the go. We can light up some dry moss, I saved. Cover me while I make the fire."

Slowly walking while they were guarding me, we walked away from the cave while still having the consciousness to head towards Sapphire Cave. I wrapped a nice thick stick in dry moss at the tip.

Then with flint and rock, we had a fire! The first thing I noticed was that we were bleeding everywhere. So first, we exhausted our medical supplies. While walking, as I patched everyone up, we were still occasionally attacked. They decided to keep the pressure on us, maybe to wear us out. My friends were excellent guards, though, walking a few as they got close. They were both using their bags at this point. To both block and wack the bug enemies that they could locate.

FableFantasyHorrorHumorLoveMysterySatireSci FiSeriesShort StoryYoung AdultAdventure
Like

About the Creator

Terrence

Releasing an ongoing online book called Zaigon. If you are new here I strongly reccomend you start reading from page 1(the oldest). Comic located at www.patreon.com/zaigon. Merch at https://digishoppe.creator-spring.com/listing/comic-zaigon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.