Fiction logo

Pear-fect!

By: S.L.A

By Shyan ApplePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Pear-fect!
Photo by David Fartek on Unsplash

Along the winding road, my favorite place sits. It’s been years since I tasted its sweet beauty. Years since the nectar flows down my chin. The last time I was there was summer of ‘13 and now summer of ‘21 I get to see it again. My favorite tree. Pearl.

I know it's weird to name a tree, but that was my only friend for a short time. Now, all grown up, I get to share a remarkable turn of events. We packed the car and headed off. Dazed at the thought of seeing it once more I almost crashed the car. I apologize to my passenger and trudge forward. Along the way we talk of our plans for our new home. I mentioned a garden and He immediately rolled his eyes knowing what I want to grow. A tree of my own.

As the miles pass and the sun begins to fall, I see the sign for our destination. 10 miles away. My childlike heart begins to race and I almost can’t sit still. Knowing we are close and the moments that will be shared fill me with joy. A beautiful way to cherish my childish adventures, and share the most blissful day will all that matter. My wedding.

The ceremony is tomorrow and everyone should be arriving within the next eighteen hours. The miles have gone and at last we reach the fork in the road. As my heart yearns for the winding road We must head to the straight and narrow road for the hotel. When we arrive my lovely bridesmaids are waiting for me in the lobby. A nice man brings a luggage cart and helps us in. Once we check in, me and my partner say our goodbyes for the night. I settle in and share a magical evening with my girls. Playing games, laughing and preparing for the marrow.

In the morning my girls hurry to help me get ready. In all, it shouldn’t take 4 hours to get ready, but it does. The big puffy dress is on and the nerves settle in. I turn and look out the window, it's raining. Our outdoor wedding is now on pause.

My heart tings, this day was supposed to be special. The ceremony right in front of Pearl and the reception in a newly built gazebo right next to it. I can see the guests starting to arrive. Fighting the urge to cry, a knock is at the door. My maid of honor opens the door slowly in case it’s my partner. Sadly, it isn’t. My father comes and stops amazed at my glory. This brings me a small smile. He gives me a big hug the best he can not to mess anything up. After a moment we sit down and he tries to calm me down about the rain.

He tells a memory. . . One day when it had been really hot a long summer ago, I had run off with no warning. My parents searched and searched for me, it wasn’t till well after lunch did they find me fanning the tree. I had told them that I was making sure Pearl didn’t get overheated.

We all laughed and shared more stories. Shortly, it was time. Without looking at the window. I got up and started to head out to the lobby. The car was waiting for us, the rain had not yet stopped. We head toward the winding road, my sorrow has yet left but a new joy has come. I’m about to get married. We arrive at the little tent before the aisle. We all get out, me last, and I look ahead. There is a tent lining the aisle. I look out to the rain. It’s gone. I smiled and was filled with joy that my plans were not ruined. Many guests head to the large tent and start to disassemble.

The music plays and everyone heads out before me. My dad takes my arm and we head out. I see Him right next to Pearl in full bloom. Just how I imagined it. The ceremony goes smoothly with only some tears shed. During the reception me and my husband head over to Pearl and we pick the ripest pears we can find. We twist our arms like all couples do and bite in.

What a pear-fect day!

Love
Like

About the Creator

Shyan Apple

Im a young writer who loves fiction. I have too many ideas that flow in my head. Hope to share them with the world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.