Fiction logo

Note Entry

Created 26/07 7:45AM

By Kureha DurantPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

26/07

7:45 AM Fire reported at a medical facility in Zone 1.

7:50 AM Witness noticed a figure resembling Brass Mage and reported the incident to the police

8:15 AM Police and fire department arrive on site. Fire has spread around the facility by this time. Police confirm the figure with wavy red hair, gas mask, and long fireproof coat as Brass Mage. Electric Arrow has also arrived at the scene after being called in by the fire department. Electric Arrow enters the flaming building immediately.

Note: Fire and electricity don't mix well. Might be an interesting fight.

8:30 AM Mass Media arrives on the scene. News Helicopter flying above, streaming the incident live. Stream content: Electric Arrow going against Brass Mage. They seem to be talking about something but no one was able to record their conversation. Electric Arrow runs in for a punch. A beam on fire falls through causing a cloud of smoke to block the view.

8:39 AM Smoke cleared and Electric Arrow was standing alone in the scene. Brass Mage is nowhere to be seen. People start to cheer assuming the hero’s victory.

Note: Feels a bit too early to make any assumptions. Rewatched the footage and Electric Arrow panicked at the falling beam. Must have been coming from his blind spot. Brass Mage glanced over it for a split second, took a step back, and looked straight back at Electric Arrow. Am I overthinking this?

9:32 AM The fire is completely put out. No injury or death was recorded from the incident.

Note: Brass Mage has no injury, no death streak. Are they avoiding causing harm to people on purpose? Why? What is their motive? Or is someone manipulating the records for them?

10:05 AM Bus is late again.

10:41 AM Got to class early. No one in the lecture hall

10:52 AM - 10:58 AM Al and Ditta are here. Just missing Irina now. Probably went for a quick morning volunteer at the hospital. Irina makes it just on time. Can smell smoke from her. Probably smoking again. Irina’s preferred pronoun today, she/they.

11:00 AM - 12:50 PM Workshop. Today’s project, sit facing one of the classmates and paint a portrait based on the other person. Irina got a portrait of them dancing through a mismatched landscape without her glasses on. Ditta said she was the one painting it and asked Irina how they see different colours. Irina painted Ditta looking out into a vividly coloured landscape while Ditta is sitting in a monochrome room. I painted Al as a knight with a toad instead of a horse. Al painted me running off into the misty forest.

Rest of the day: Went over to Ditta’s house to celebrate Hammas. All 4 of us went to the local botanical garden. We identified some of the plants and took photos of them. Irina tried to steal some of the flowers and Ditta was trying to stop them. We went up the hill to watch the sunset. Saw nothing more than the usual traffic. Went back to Ditta’s place, made food for Hammas, and drank some chamomile tea. At the end of the night, we burnt some brown and green coloured candles. Al forgot why we were doing this, Ditta explained that it was related to Wicca and harvest. Al said it’s pointless thanks to mass production and global trade. They argued for a bit. Irina and I were poking fun at their arguments.

27/07 Saturday 11:27 AM

On my way back home from Ditta’s place. Waiting at the bus stop. The street is pretty quiet for Saturday morning.

12:14 PM Got home. While I was waiting for the bus, Roy hugged me from behind. It caught me off guard and I jumped. He told me he was on the way back from “that group’s” meeting. He told me he’s quitting that group now that the Brass Mage retired. He originally joined that group because the press company wanted one of us to infiltrate for any extra scoop. He volunteered and said he would be better suited for the position. He got off at the bus stop in front of the press company. I wonder if he went there to tell them he left the group. He was acting a bit off today. I hope everything is okay.

22:09 PM Interview with Electric Arrow on the news. He said that the Brass Mage told him they were retiring after that fight and disappeared. Based on Electric Arrow (a bit weird calling Kevin by his hero name), the beam came down when he went for a punch, he tried to dodge it, smoke blocked his vision and the Brass Mage was gone. Most people seemed to be convinced that Kevin got rid of Brass Mage. The media is saying that Brass Mage got scared and ran away (well I guess that’s expected since they’re the ones that are testing Hero weapons with Kevin). But none of the theories sit right with me. I feel like it’s too early to say that Brass Mage is gone.

28/07 Sunday 11:02 AM

My sister found old toys and Irina said I can drop them off at his place after my doctor’s appointment. Also, Irina said he feels like he/him today. better keep that in mind.

12:14 AM Waiting for the doctor’s appointment. Not looking forward to being recommended gender affirmation surgery again. What’s wrong with having both organs? Who’s going to ask me about my genitals in a daily conversation? Sure there are some inconveniences but for now, I want to take my time understanding how I feel about my orientation and my physical body.

1:03PM Waiting for the bus again. Maybe I should try and get a car licence. A lot of people are going in and out of the hospital. I wondered if the emergency department is having it easier now that Brass Mage is “gone” but they never caused any injuries in the first place. So I guess everything is just the same.

13:47 PM Got to Irina’s place and saw Kevin leave his place. Kevin never mentioned knowing Irina before. Why was he suddenly at Irina’s place? I panicked and ran over to a park nearby. I need to go back soon to drop off the toys. But recently I’ve been wondering if Irina is Brass Mage. They both have short wavy red hair. He also mentioned how much the children at the hospital liked hearing stories about Electric Arrow and Brass Mage. Most of the facilities Brass Mage is attacking have been medical and toy factories. I noticed that they have similar habits in the way they fight while I was watching Brass Mage on news and both on-site.

I need to make sure to take out some details when writing up the article on Brass Mage’s last fight. I don’t want the press to make any connection before I can find any solid evidence. But they have access to the news footage. They have their own way of getting information. What if they notice some of the details are missing? Would I lose my job? But I don’t want to put my friend in danger without any solid evidence. The moment the press notices how similar the two of them are, they will do whatever they can to make an article about it. Irina might have to stop volunteering. Not to mention it would make it difficult for him to find a job in the future. It doesn’t help that he’s openly gender fluid too. The press will definitely attack that.

I want to tell Roy about all of this. He’s so accepting. They’re always there for me and know what to say. But he works for the press too. I want to trust them. I don’t know if telling him any of this would be the wisest decision. I guess it’s not something I can decide on the spot.

First thing first, I need to go and drop off this toy at Irina’s place.

Saved: 13:54 PM

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Kureha Durant

Currently posting short stories from my daily writing challenge. Concept arts and aesthetic edits of each story available on my other platforms

https://linktr.ee/KurehaDurant

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.