Fiction logo

No Way Out

An Experimental Monologue

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a year ago 3 min read
8

Introduction

This is an experimental monologue. As I start, I am not sure that I can complete six hundred words for this story but this is the sort of challenge that I set myself. I hope to maybe surprise you a little and hope that you can keep with me to the end.

Lost

I don't know how I got here, I have forgotten, but I know where I want to go, I can see where I want to go to, but something is stopping me and I don't know what it is.

I really don't understand, I go forward and it is like hitting a brick wall (I can see one about thirty feet away) and it is giving me an absolute headache.

I go back and then rush forward again and bang, I can't go any further.

I am not stupid, well I don't think I am, although a bit pigheaded when I want to do something or get somewhere but I am sensible, well I think I am.

Once more I go back and then forward again, and bang I am stopped. Then suddenly there is another bang.

Someone is trying to hit me. If they do they will probably kill me, I won't be stunned I will be destroyed, mincemeat, strawberry jam. Whatever they are using is huge and they missed me but hit the invisible barrier and the noise is deafening. I am hoping they hit the barrier so hard that they smash it.

I keep going back and forth hoping to find somewhere where the barrier is weak on non-existent, but every time I cannot get through it.

I can feel a draft, I think from above, there was a noise but I don't know what it was, but I have to get past this invisible barrier. I need air and need to get food and need to be out of this prison. I need water too, sustenance, I cannot keep hitting this invisible brick wall, because either the person who is trying to kill me will succeed or I will kill myself, and I really don't want to end up dead either by my own efforts or someone else's violent attacks.

Bang!!

I just got hit but hit upward, and I can feel the downdraft hit me, but I am going through it and there is nothing stopping me, I am free, thank god for that, I really thought I was dead.

I just hope I never end up trapped behind an invisible barrier like that again, it is definitely not any good for my health, I just hope I never ever get trapped like that again. I really don't know how I got there so it might happen again, but may I will look further afield to find a way out, but we shall see.

Now to go and find something to eat and drink and fix my sore head.

Behind The Barrier

Why are they so stupid? They always do this and that buzzing just gets on my nerves, maybe if they were quiet I wouldn't get too bothered but they are always like that, and just keep hitting the window over and over again.

When I opened the top window they virtually never take the option to fly outside, and I end up squishing them against the window with a rolled-up newspaper then I have to clean the bloody window.

Thank god this one was sensible and took the option to escape, I can close the window now and hopefully, my room will be free of damned bluebottles, they are such horrible flies, and I hate them.

HumorShort StoryMystery
8

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knockabout a year ago

    And aren't we all, in one way or another, simply flies who cannot find our way through the open window?

  • Abiodun Olanrewajuabout a year ago

    Nice one

  • Lol, what a twist! I didn't see that coming!

  • Cendrine Marrouatabout a year ago

    I really liked the twist, Mike. You totally surprised me. Well done!

  • Nice one Mike ❤️😉

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.