Fiction logo

Mystery in a Box

Something hidden and suspicious

By Angela Anderson Published 3 years ago 4 min read
1

It was a cool morning, the fog was slowly lifting. As I unloaded my two rambunctious fur babies. You know the kids with fur, because we have either chosen not to have real children or our children have grown up. Yes, left the nest and now we are all alone. So the decision was made to pick up some fur kids. I have to say the are expensive and need a lot of attention and snacks of course. My fur kids are named Sammy the oldest he is seven with red hair. The second one is Duke, in his terrible two's and yes acting out like an unruly teenager. Can't seem to hold it together long enough, just to get through a single minute, what a goof. Duke is a German Shepard so of course he is a handful and Sammy a cross with Vizsla. Vizsla is a hunting breed from Hungary. I have to say, he is good at noticing animals moving in the background but is terrified of bears. So that is where Duke comes in. The macho type, ready to take anything on that comes our way.

So now that I have them unloaded from the truck, leashes are on. Snacks and water bottles in the backpack. We start heading up a path that is leading us up a slight incline. The path is a little damp from the morning mist. It feels good to be outside. We love exploring, just seeing what might be out there. You never know what you just might find. Its always good to keep an eye out for treasures. Sometimes I find interesting things, cool rocks, tree's in weird shapes, or even just odd items that look like someone forgot them there. We climbed for part of the day, it seemed to go by so fast as the dogs do help me climb, by tugging on the leash. Way off in the background it looked like some kind of a shed. So interested, I couldn't wait to get there.

Who would live out here? It's a long way out, in the middle of no where," I thought". There was moss growing in the rocks and the old house. I wonder if anyone is there? What a surprise that would be. So glad I have my fur crew with me, just incase.

As we approached the old stairs, it looked like the house was abandoned many years ago. Slowly I stepped up on each step, worried that they just might give out. Gosh you wouldn't want to get hurt way out here. The wooden stairs were slippery. Trying to step up them slowly wasn't easy, as the two fur kids where in a hurry. Sometimes they just don't understand how to wait, or be patient. As we approached the front door, I checked the handle to see if it was unlocked. Sure enough the door opened with a loud screech. There was an old table and one single chair. The chair was hand made from an old carved out stump. It look like a comfy place to sit. The table was a couple of boards nailed together to resemble a table. I scanned the room to find an old bed in the corner. The mattress was made from some kind of straw stuffing peaking out of one corner. There was a wood burning stove that had a single burner on top, with an old pot resting there.

It was very small for sure, but cozy, if there was only one person living here. I wondered in my mind how long has it been empty? Who lived here before? I scanned the room to see if I could find any clues, as to who could have been here last. As I looked in the cupboards, looking for any piece of information that would give some kind of answers. In the bottom cupboard there was what looked like a box wrapped in brown paper. I carefully removed the box and set it on the table. Wow, what have I found here? Should I look inside? Would it be wrong, to see what was hiding inside? So many questions entered my mind. Who knows what is in there and how long. I am feeling a bit nervous and thinking that it is morally wrong to snoop inside. As I stood there wondering what I should do. I decided to put the box back in the cupboard. Right now it just doesn't feel right to open a mystery box that isn't mine. As I walked down the path with my fur buddies. It was a long walk to the truck. I just couldn't put the thought out of my mind. The dogs and I were tired from our long adventure and headed home.

I decided to do some research about the area, perhaps I can figure out who lived there. Who did that box belong to and why wasn't it opened? So many things that could have taken place. What if the box was meant to be given to someone...I just needed to keep looking, to find it's rightful owner. One day the mystery will be solved, as I am not giving up.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Angela Anderson

In our minds we always have the younger sprit of ourselves. We just loose track of it in our busy lives. Don't forget who you were when you had nothing to fear, just live on and make new memories.

Angela

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.