Fiction logo

My Serial Killer

A fictional crime story.

By Tiahna - Education = ChangePublished 3 years ago 10 min read
My Serial Killer
Photo by Marshal Quast on Unsplash

My serial killer

"No, I can't let this happen again" I said walking away from the cold, lifeless body in front of me.

"So it's true than." A familiar voice announced.

"Sarah, this is a crime scene. You can't be here, go before anyone else sees you." I looked at my little sister, not that little anymore since she's 21 years old, but nevertheless she is my little sister.

"I told you he was coming home soon, I told you." Sarah said, tears forming in her eyes.

"Sarah, you know he would never hurt you."

"I feel like I should trust him, but I can't bring myself to do it. His hurt and killed too many now, I'll never forgive him." The dangerous tone to her voice sent chills down my spine, what happened to my little sister. The one that could never even look you in the eye she was so shy and innocent.

"I'm sorry Sarah, I'm sorry."

"Jace it's not your fault don't be upset. The only person at fault is Da-" I cut her off before she said anymore.

"Sarah" I said through clenched teeth.

"Sorry."

"It's alright, just be careful." I warned her before turning her around and taking her to her car.

"Sarah it's time for you to go home, I'll be around later tonight."

"Alrite see you than, bro."

Giving her a kiss on the cheek goodbye, I watched her get into the car and drive off into the distance.

"Detective Hills, I think you might want to take a look at this."

I turned around and faced my associate Detective Dan Millers, the only guy on Earth alive who knows anything about what my family have kept hidden for years now.

"What is it Millers?"

"I found it." Dan said in a hushed voice, careful not to alarm the other investigators around us.

Immediately I went to see what he had found, already aware of what it most likely would be.

"Take it back to the safe house now." I told Dan, an urgency to my voice.

"And what have you two found?"

"Damn" I heard Dan say under his breath.

"Another victim sir." I answered knowing if I didn't take this shot we would be caught later on for being an accessory to my brothers situation.

"Another victim? Let me see boys." We stepped away to show the chief what we had stumbled upon.

A low rumbling sound erupted from his chest and soon turned into a loud obnoxious laugh.

"Boys you almost had me there I do believe this is just a bird, a dead one at that."

"Of course Sir, it was all just a joke. Sorry if we startled you at all." Dan replied finally catching on.

"Alright, well I will leave you boys to it, I have to go and see how the others are going."

We nodded our farewells and waited for the chief to be out of sight before Dan grabbed a box and gently placed the bird in it. Knowing full well that this is the clue to my brothers next victim.

*Flashback*

"You told me that it wasn't you! You said you would never kill her!" I screamed at my brother, after finding out that his Ex-wife was murdered he had said he still loved her and could never hurt her like that. I was stupid enough to believe him, I found her heart in a jar in my brothers basement. I knew she had hurt my brother and that he took it to heart, but I never once thought he was capable of murder.

"I had no choice. I did what had to be done." He grabbed the jar and walked out of his own house.

*End Flashback*

I never saw him again, but I did find the people he had murdered. It seems he wanted to rid the world of the evil that had caused him harm. He went after everyone who had wronged him and he became addicted. Fast. He had left small clues as to who the next victim would be, he started going after people he had never met, never even seen before. He became a serial killer and I was the detective chasing him and his murders.

*Darren's P.O.V*

To think that I found someone just like me, someone that almost worships me. I know this one will never leave my side. I will make sure she stays with me.

"Darren, I did as you said. The bird fell into your beloved brothers hands." She said almost sadistically, knowing my brother he will fall for everything I have planned.

"Good work, Allison. It is about time you start lifting your own weight around here. Which is why I have booked us an evening out at the same restaurant my brother will be dining. Sadly we won't be able to dine together my dear, although what I have is much better. You will watch how I am with my brother and you will learn how I behave around him. My dear, you are now my partner, no one will be able to tear us apart not even that wretched brother of mine, Jace."

"Once you are rid of him, there will be no one to stop you. No one Darren."

"Once we are rid of him, my dear, once we are rid of him there will be no one to stop us." I couldn't help turning to a mirror on my last few words to see the malicious smile that had grown so eagerly upon my face.

*Jace P.O.V*

I sat quietly eating my dinner at my favorite restaurant, I remember when she used to come here with me. All the love and laughter we shared. She had told me I had become addicted in the search and mission to find my brother. She had said it was a waste of time because once I found him I wouldn't have the guts to shoot him, I'm not like him I couldn't kill like he does. Though I know that when the time comes I am most likely to try a diplomatic approach and take him in to the station, I do believe when the time comes, if need be, I will take him down. I will take him down without a second thought.

*Brriiinnnggg*

I quickly answered my phone waiting expectantly to see if Dan had found our next suspect.

"Usually brother, when you answer a phone you say hello. Or in your case Detective Jace. No, you don't do that you just put it to your ear waiting for the person who called you to say the first word. Almost like you are hoping to find the next clue from inside a dead birds body." The icy tone of his voice was not taken without caution.

"Darren, the nerve you have to call using my own phone. And what happens if I trace the call! What happens than, Darren?"

"Go ahead, trace the call my brother." I could almost hear that disgusting smirk in his voice. I hung up and started to trace it.

"Well is it done yet." There was no mistaking that voice, Darren.

"Darren!" I growled lightly, not wanting to cause a scene.

"After all these years , not once have I seen you. Yet you greet me with such a cold tone." I can't bear to even look at him, knowing that I will see that look of pure hatred in his ice cold eyes.

"I'd be nicer if I considered you a brother, that won't happen until you bring yourself in or I do it for you."

"No, you still care about me too much for that. You won't ever be able to catch me until you become just like me brother, we both know a cop has a conscience. A killer like me does not. My brother, you are a cop with a conscience and I am a killer with none." His smirk did nothing to contradict his words.

"Well if that is the case, I suggest you go now. Before I become any less of what I am and kill you myself."

"Oh, but wait I have a surprise just for you my brother." I knew if neither of us left than, that it would change everything. Our whole game plan, God only knows why I didn't listen to my gut feeling.

"What than, what is this surprise you have for me Darren?"

"My dear, come over here and meet this brother of mine, Detective Jace. I am sure you two have met at least once before." A women with dark hair, stunning blue eyes and amazing long legs stepped out from a shadowed corner.

"Good evening, Jace." I know that voice, that voice has tormented me every night I get to be by myself.

"How could you." I barely managed to get the words out, an even when I did they were barely above a whisper.

"Easy, Darren has everything you don't. He knows there's more to life than just his job, he knows how to satisfy a women and his got more of a backbone than you could ever imagine." Each word was as cold as the next, it felt like they each had a knife to throw straight at my chest.

"Well I guess we best be off now, my dear? Come, let's go." I watched as they left taking the last bit of my soul that was left. She left me for a killer like him, maybe it's just me. Maybe I turn those closest to me into psychopaths. If I don't get out now than everything I love or care for will be the same, everyone I know will turn into the worst version of themselves. I cannot let this happen.

I ran home leaving my car where it was parked outside the restaurant. At home I packed everything I'd need for the rest of my life in the bush, at least until I am ready to face the world and get rid of the evil I had created.

*Sarah's P.O.V*

It's been four years since Jace had disappeared, I was now living with detective Millers. My partner in justice. Once Jace had left I decided to join the force, there was too much going on for me to just sit on the side lines and watch it all happen as it passes by. I am going to find my brother. Both of them, Jace is going to have to face reality some time and I need him here for when I bring in Darren. I will not let him get away with all those he had killed.

"There's been another death, Sarah you will want to see this."

As soon as I heard those words I knew something bad had happened whether it was the words themselves or the gut feeling I got at the same time I dont know, I just knew I wasn't going to be happy at the end of the day.

"I'm on my way" I voiced through the speaker.

"What is it?" I asked not so sure if I wanted to know. There was blood and bits of flesh everywhere, it looked as if someone had massacred another person into one thousand little pieces. It was horrible to say the least.

"We just got the papers from the estate agent, they say the guy that owned it was named Darren Night. We looked it up on our system and found it to be a fake name, we got a photo and it's scanning for any facial recognition. The other victim is a female that goes by the name of Leandar Night, another alias. We just got her results back. It's your brothers ex-wife."

I looked at the mess splattered around me, it doesn't make sense. My killer of a brother was playing house with my detective brother's ex-wife. No wonder Jace left but that would also give him a motive for this murder.

"We got another one, over in park drive. A man hang himself, they said he recorded the whole thing and the first 20 minutes of it are hell.

Sitting in the station after seeing my brother hanging from a chain, dead and covered in blood, I was watching him torcher his ex and our brother. It was gruesome, blood and gore wouldnt begin to cover the genre of this if it were to be a movie.

Once he had finished toying with them he had got an axe, a machette, a blow torch and a meat slicer. He started to hack at there bodies, watching this now, I'm surprised there wasn't more blood and flesh than that of what we saw. Once the twenty minutes were over he apologized to me for putting me through everything and that he loved me so much, he than went on to explain to the cops how he had been covering our brothers tracks for years now and once again apologizes.

He proceeds to grab a chain and wrap it around his throat. I can't watch anymore, I stood up and ran from the room tears threatening to roll over.

I was on the edge and wasn't sure if I could make it through this, but when I think about it. I can't follow my brothers into the next world, not yet at least because than both of there efforts would be at loss. I will not let that happen, I will not destroy the life they had both created for me.

I will finish what they started.

I hope you enjoyed my small piece of fiction.

Mystery

About the Creator

Tiahna - Education = Change

My main aim with my writing is to teach you something or make you question something.

Otherwise I hope you find some enjoyment from my fictional stories. 💕

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Tiahna - Education = ChangeWritten by Tiahna - Education = Change

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.