Fiction logo

Always Running

A fast action short story of Leroy, enjoy as he navigates the consequences of his bad decisions.

By Tiahna - Education = ChangePublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Always Running
Photo by John Salzarulo on Unsplash

Running, running. That's all I can do is just keep running. As long I stay focused on the mission at hand I should be alright. As long as I don't get distracted I will live. That's my focus, my mission to survive.

I have been on the run for three years now, I have nowhere left to hide, so instead I have to keep moving. If I wasn't such an idiot I really wouldn't be in this situation. I wouldn't be stuck outside in the pouring rain wondering which road to take. I could have been in a nice warm living room, the toasty fire going and a warm cup of coffee in my hands. If only I could have been smarter.

"Leroy I know you’re out here, show yourself now!" a commanding voice sounded from somewhere deep within the downpour.

I ran behind the first visible building and started searching for a door.

"Leroy, this way. Quick!"

A small slim shadow had appeared and ran along the edge of the building. I raced after it wondering who they were and how they knew my name.

"Quickly Leroy!" They ordered me again. "Your too slow, I'll save you from them first chance I get. Goodbye." The shadow disappeared into the darkness just before a gun sounded, I felt the bullet graze past my ear.

"Hold your fire! We want him alive you bloody imbeciles."

I suddenly realized what that stranger had meant, I hadn't realized I had let them get this close. An arm wrapped around my neck, holding me tightly in a head lock. I found myself becoming breathless than it all went dark.

I awoke with ice cold water being splashed across my face, not a pleasant feeling at all.

"Sir he woke up this time." A low-lively grub said.

"You took your time in waking him up. Now get lost!" A voice full of authority had exclaimed. I watched as a tall dark-colored man walked in he was accompanied by a small Asian guy and what looked like an American.

At least I'd be able to understand one of them.

"What is this, your not FBI. So what the hell do you want me for?" I yelled trying to hide my uncertainty and sound confident instead.

"Shut your mouth! You will not, I repeat, Will not address Court like that!" The American shouted defending what seems to be his boss.

"Court? Like short for Courtney?" I laughed. They had to be kidding me, it's obvious they’re a weapons corporation. That was obvious, but Courtney? The big boss man? I couldn't hold it in any longer I burst out laughing at him.

I hardly saw the guy move but as soon as he did I felt the unmistakeable edge of a sharp blade pressed against my throat.

"Shizuka ni Baku." He spoke lowly into my ear, almost menacingly. It became clear he spoke Japanese, telling me to "shut up idiot" but I couldn't help elbowing the small guy in the groin. He dropped the blade and backed up surprised a bit. I was on the ground tied to a weight so I could easily grab the blade and free myself.

I would have too if a really hot woman didn't just walk into the room with a large group easily outnumbering Courts group. There were guns raised everywhere, but no one payed much attention to anywhere except where that beautiful woman was standing with a chain wrapped around Court's throat as well as a knife slowly cutting his neck.

"If you want your boss alive you will drop your weapons and move into the store room, now!" Her voice was menacing, daring anyone to oppose her.

After a minute a few people started to lower their weapons and slowly walked with their arms raised in surrender to the store room. Soon after everyone followed by example, no one except the woman's group and the three main guys were left outside of the store room.

"You will let us leave with Leroy and you will not follow us no matter what!" she said with a threatening look on her face.

"We will get you another time Leroy." Court promised me.

"We've found a safe house for you, you will go there and you will not leave until I come and get you. Do not trust anyone else if they come to get you." This woman became more and more enticing by the minute.

"I'll wait there for you." I barely managed to say.

"Yes, you will Leroy." Amusement danced across her eyes showing a softer side of her, but as quickly as it came it left.

I was blindfolded and given a drug, I guess I'll just have to wait for her. And what a long wait it will be. "And you may call me Serene" was the last thing I heard before the effects of the drug took full effect, putting me in a deep slumber.

I awoke with a pounding headache. I looked down at my Spider-Man Pajamas, than up at the wall decorated with car posters. Across from me was my PlayStation set up and GTA blaring across the screen.

Woah that was an intense dream.

Mystery
Like

About the Creator

Tiahna - Education = Change

My main aim with my writing is to teach you something or make you question something.

Otherwise I hope you find some enjoyment from my fictional stories. 💕

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.