Fiction logo

My Childhood Friend And I

sometimes friends are future lovers

By MizuNaniaPublished 10 months ago 2 min read
Like

"Mom!" I shriek, running into my moms arms. My mom wraps her arms around my petting my head, "what's wrong Lilly?" I sniff and look up at my mom, "why do I have to be friends with peter!" She petted my head some more, "what happened this time?" "He's an icky boy, I want nothing to do with him! Plus he pulls on my ponytail," I whine. My mom sighs, "Susan." Susan approached with her son Peter next to her, "yes?" "The kids are fighting again." Susan knelt down, "kids you both need to learn to get along because you'll always be in each other's lives."

What Susan told us that day always stuck with me. What she said was true. We always were in each other's lives from the moment they were born. Over the course of time their relationship changed though. At first they thought of each other as annoying but gradually started having feelings for one another. All I wanted was to be near Peter. He was my knight in shining armor. Anytime someone picked on me he would protect me. All I wanted to do was tell him how I felt even if he didn't feel the same way.

The day I finally gathered the courage to tell him how I felt was the day my heart broke. When I went to their house it was all packed up. I looked around and saw Susan. "Susan, what's going on?" Susan looked at me and smiled, "Peter and I are leaving the country!" I felt my heart drop, "when will you be back?" She shook her head, "we won't be." That day I had to say goodbye to the love of my life forever.

Over the next three years I shoved myself into work, I became a successful photographer but, no matter how much I tried to move on or date I couldn't forget Peter. I loved Peter and he was all I wanted and all I could think about. I worked my butt off and moved up the ranks. Eventually I stopped thinking about him every second until one day he came into my office.

As soon as I saw him my heart started to burst, I hoped he'd felt the same. The greeting he gave me was cold. I sent him to his own office to work and over the next week we practically ignored each other. Eventually I couldn't take it anymore and called him into my office. When he came I closed the doors and inleased all my tears and heartbreak over the past three years. I told him how I felt. Instead of backing away he kissed me. And I knew that the wait had been worth it.

LoveShort Story
Like

About the Creator

MizuNania

I'm an amateur writer who hopes to become a professional writer in the future. I mainly enjoy writing fiction and reading!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.