Fiction logo

Miss Tina changed my life.

Her unexpected arrival rewrote our lives, a work of fiction and drama.

By Timothy WebberPublished about a year ago 17 min read
Like
Miss Tina changed my life.
Photo by Jr Korpa on Unsplash

Strange Objects

I should start at the beginning or would it be better to start at some point beyond that. My mind can't stop to make a decision because it is going through thoughts faster than I can keep up. Oh, what am I thinking about this time? Yeah, I was going to tell you how a visit from Ms. Tina rewrote my life story. Her arrival came during the preparations to get our house ready to be dazzling enough to not go backwards in our bank account when it was sold to the next family to own it.

I was picking up items in my husband's office so I could steam clean the carpet. I grab the curtain next to one of the windows to move aside the curtain and make sure it was off the carpet. When I looked down I saw a insulin syringe next to the wall. I was not a diabetic and unless my husband was keeping a secret, neither was he. So I was a bit confused on how it might have found its way into our home without being allowed in.

I picked it up carefully, even though it has an end cap on I was still a little nervous about handling the syringe. I put it on my husband's desk in a safe spot and decided to inquire about it later. I finished vacuuming and cleaning the carpet and moved on to the next room. Temporarily forgetting about my discovery and its strange appearance.

By Michal Balog on Unsplash

Strange Reason

Several days later as I was down in the basement family room I was packing things up to move them out when I found myself confronted with another insulin syringe. This one appeared on the bookshelf behind a row of books. I was definitely shocked to find another one of these objects since there was no valid reason I knew of for it to be there. I moved it to the fireplace mantel and immediately went upstairs to talk to my husband, who happened to be in his office.

When I walked into his office I noticed that the first syringe I found was still sitting on his desk. In my confusion and haste I forgot to bring the evidence up with me from the basement. I pointed to the syringe and asked my husband why I was in his office. His answer seemed legitimate and easy enough to accept. His doctor has prescribed some vitamin shots to help him with some male functions. Which brought a smile to my face since the loss of those functions was creating a rift between us.

Letting the two discoveries slide and filed under the thank you doctor category I went back to the basement to finish up. The basement was the last room to go before the house could be placed in the market and look presentable to prospective buyers. It was also that last a syringe was found hiding out in some inconspicuous place. I am guessing at that since I have no clue nor did I ask how many there were to start with.

By Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

New State, New Life

If you have never uprooted and moved across the country then you probably are not aware of how stressful it can be. It gets even more stressful when you don't do it all at once and are stuck traveling back and forth between two states. Since my husband was transferred first because the company merged and his job was relocated to our new state, I was stuck back in the old state trying to get a hardship transfer. When the house finally sold I ran out of time getting that transfer and just has to end my employment and career and move on.

So arriving in our new home without a job and hauling the final few things the movers left behind, I found nothing but loneliness and despair. The whole affair moved so quickly and became so nerve wracking that our relationship was in a sour place. When you add into the situation my unemployment and no present income, the problem just got bigger and darker. The only thing I could do was start unpacking and getting things on the path back to normal. That was ok at first but life didn't return to normal at that point or at any point since then.

By Kevin Yudhistira Alloni on Unsplash

Late for dinner

My daily routine consisted of a to-do list left for me, laundry, household cleaning and cooking dinner. I would check my to-do and read the daily joke left with it and plan my day out. When it approached the time for my husband to start home I would get dinner prepared and waiting. This became a daily routine I could handle and became my comfort from all the other problems of life. That is until things started to become unglued. I started noticing that I was spending more and more time alone in an empty unfamiliar home and city. What was going on and why am I all alone?

My husband slowly started spending more time working. It was bad enough for him to commute everyday from where we found a home to where his job was located so I could understand the extra hours to stave off dealing with rush hour. That gradually turned into him staying with a coworker closer to where he worked. Did I forget to mention all the meals I had cooked that went to waste because he was either late or didn't come home. My husband still traveled back to our old state and his company's headquarters were located.. So that added into my solitary existence and being the happy depressed anxiety relationship I had with myself.

Gradually all of that combined into a marriage that was headed south quickly and no options to slow it down. My husband seemed like he was more distant and really didn't want to be around me or spend time with me. During his days off he would have company social functions to attend that were employees only, no wives or other family allowed. His work became more than work and was more like his wife than I was. How could this be? How did I cause all of this?

By Kristina Tripkovic on Unsplash

Social Life

Feeling depressed and all alone with no family nearby and no friends yet, I decided it was time for me to change that. I finally worked up the courage to meet the neighbors and venture out into this huge new city. I worked up the nerve to address my mental state and home found a counselor I could talk to about what my mind was in turmoil over. I went to the closest mall and spent money I really didn't have. I began searching for a new source of income. I was doing my best to change things and get our life back to fun and happiness yesterday.

That sounded amazing when I say it, but the reality was less than dull. The counselor turned out to be way off the mark and never paid attention to anything I said. The neighbors had too many children to be adult social and rather rude with me not having children of my own. They completely shunned me and literally closed their curtains and turned off the lights if they saw me coming. I am too timid and insecure to go into that huge city alone. I am a simple person from a small town nowhere and not amongst the upper class or even the middle class for that matter. I could only buy so much with so little money and no credit.

My husband has become non-existent and hardly ever around. I actually saved up enough money to spend a weekend mini vacation by myself. What is a weekend mini staycation? For me it is to pick the hotel nearest you that is the nicest, most luxurious and any other descriptive you choose. Then book a weekend in the best room or suite you can afford and go be in luxury and a different life for that weekend. Of course it is sad when you have to check out and check back into reality. But you can be someone else and have the best of what you can create before then. My favorite was the Hyatt Regency and a two room suite with the Jacuzzi tub.

By Malin Strandvall on Unsplash

Mini Staycation

So there I was all checked into my suite and still not feeling like life was going to get better. I had my bottle of Prosecco half down and still in a towel after a few minutes in the jacuzzi. I turned on the television to see if maybe a movie would spice things up. While scrolling through the channels I noticed an advertisement for one of those singles websites. Ok I am not usually unfaithful or have thoughts of anyone but my husband but I was down to desperation and decided oh why not. I set myself up with an account and started browsing the locals. Hey don't judge me, you don't have a clue what it was like

Anyways, there were some fine specimens on every page. I was drooling and had the vapors from all the eye candy. It did not take long at all for my inbox to start receiving message after message. I have always considered myself below normal and nothing that special. I don't wear the top fashions and don't make myself look like someone I am not. I guess it's that small town in the middle of nowhere with nobody to impress childhood. But I was the new face and all the sharks were circling to get a taste. The attention was overwhelming at first, but then I remember where I was and what I was doing. I lost my reality and dove deep into the waters of my Mini Staycation.

By Fernando Miro on Unsplash

Young Stallion

There were so many messages and so many choices. I must have been seriously out of my mind or really desperate since I chose a guy I was really into. What? It's not cheating if it's during a Mini Staycation, this is a fantasy weekend and not real, well that's what I told myself. So I chatted with him a bit and then talked on the phone for a bit and finally invited him to my suite. Still judging me? I bet you would have been all over him too if it were you so stop it and get off that high horse.

There was a knock at the door and I nervously went to answer it. I opened the door and standing there was one smoking hot piece of man for Olympus. I wasn't sure what to expect, it in person was way hotter than the pictures I had seen. Pick your perfect man and then add bonus material and you will get the picture. Jason was beyond anything I have ever seen or been with. Blah, blah, blah you get the picture

I am not a smoker and never have, the suite was a non-smoking suite, but Jason was a smoker. That should have bothered me and should have thrown up a red flag, but it was lost in the cloudy mush in my head. He politely asks if I mind if he smokes some, me my cloudy brain with a wetness for days, decided I could deal with the fees or whatever and gave him my permission.

Well the smoke was not tobacco or any leafy substance that I could tell. There was no rolled cigarette or paper of any kind. There was a glass tube with a bulb on the end and some crystal like thing he put in the bulb. He went into the bathroom and wet a washcloth and folded that up and put it on the nightstand. He reached into his pocket and brought out a lighter and put it into the bulb. White smoke started coming out the tube, which he inhaled. Before I knew what he was doing, he leaned over like he was going to kiss me and exhaled the smoke into my mouth. Miss Tina had arrived into my life.

By Alexandru Zdrobău on Unsplash

Miss Tina

She goes by many names and has been around the block a time or two. She showed up unannounced and took over everything. That first time when Jason exhaled into my mouth I was frozen in terror and shock. Then as Miss Tina took over my life things became a bit more darker and seedier. My brain lost track of everything and my body lost all of the clothing I had on. I don't remember taking anything off or even watching Jason take his clothes off. I just remember wanting one thing, Jason. No, I will not give details to you dirty minded things. I don't remember most of it and I don't kiss and tell. But I will say that the bonus material of my perfect man was a huge bonus.

The whole weekend was hosted by Miss Tina and seemed to fly by. Neither one of us got dressed or even showered, I really don't want to know what that room smelled like afterwards. But all good Mini Staycations must come to an end and it was the end of this one. I really was caught up in the moment and not really myself when I asked Jason to come back to my place and keep things going. I knew my husband would be gone for a few days on business and didn't want this new thing to end. So Jason and I showered and got dressed. We picked up and checked over the room really quick, then walked out 9f the suite and to his truck. Another one of my weaknesses is a man in a 4x4 pick up truck and Jason had the top of the list machine.

By Minh Pham on Unsplash

Home, well just Home

I was a decent house keeper, I meant to eat off the floor clean, but close enough. There were still some moving boxes that were not unpacked or even opened. I gave Jason the quick tour and opened the patio door and some windows to let air in and smoke out. I have no idea if the neighbors could hear, see or smell anything, I just didn't care. We picked back up where we left off at the hotel and drained ourselves over and over. Finally taking a break we just layed on the couch and started talking.

Jason asked if I wanted some water or something to drink and I said please. He came back with a couple of glasses of iced water and sat back on the couch. He had this weird look on his face which was a bit of fear and evil smirk. I looked at him and said what is it? What are you thinking about? The words that came out of his mouth made my jaw drop and gave me goosebumps. Jason had seen a picture of my wedding and my husband. I started to apologize for misleading him and he stopped me by putting his finger on.my lips. This is the moment my entire existence changed, whether for the good or bad is up to you.

Jason began by telling me that he worked with my husband and knew him very well. Jason sometimes stayed with the same coworker that my husband occasionally spent the night with. Then as more details started to flow, I began to put things together. That coworker was known for his parties and all the things that happen at those. My husband was hiding the fact that he was not really working overtime, he was actually partying his tushy off and having fun while I was here alone and miserable.

I took it all in, but instead of being furious like you would expect, I decided to do something rash and out there. I asked Jason if he would mind taking some pictures with me and told him what I planned. At first he wasn't too sure it was a good idea, but finally I convinced him that hypocrisy and double standards were far worse and I wouldn't hide things from my husband like he had done to me. So with the two of us naked and brain full of mush, we took some provocative pictures which I then sent to my husband. With the caption Jason liked to party at my husband's place better than the coworkers.

By Brett Jordan on Unsplash

Busted

I don't think I have ever received a reply text from my husband so fast since we have known each other. I figured he would be super angry and didn't really want to read what his reply was. Turns out my husband was more afraid of losing me to Jason and me finding out his secret than being mad about the extramarital escapades. I have never received so many apologies or heard my husband beg so much. I let him off the hook and told him we would talk about it when he came home.

I still was not ready to end this current binge with Jason, so we spent the next couple of days out of our minds. I asked Jason if he would not mind leaving before my husband came home and he kindly left a few hours before. I had enough time to get cleaned up and get the place aired out. My brain was starting to feel the after effects of Miss Tina and I began to crash just as my husband came in the door. He has tears in his eyes and a bouquet of flowers with a box of chocolates. Like that was the master cure for what ailed me.

We sat at the table and started to talk about all of the things going on in our lives. He started confessing about everything he had done and why it all started. I had failed to be the best spouse possible and failed in my duties to keep him happy. He finally couldn't take it and found a new outlet and way of life that made him overcome my failures and lack of attention. I apologized for being with Jason and the way I handled finding out about his other life. Before I could even blink an eye my husband has snagged a burner and a crystal and we were blowing a few clouds. Then my husband became an animal and my body became his.

By Giorgio Trovato on Unsplash

Living in the moment

Well I am now over all of those things that had plagued me since our move here. I have new friends, which are like family and a new lifestyle. You might find it horrific or a waste, but I find it pure bliss. My husband and I made changes to our marriage to accommodate both of us. We are no longer monogamous, but we are not revolving doors either. Jason and I still have Mini Staycations together which he gladly pays for. I changed a few things about myself to be more woman and less tomboy. Learning moderation was a key factor to prevent the downside to homelessness and despair. You can have your opinion of things and you can politely keep that to yourself. This is the beginning of a new life that is the complete opposite of the boring same old suburban lifestyle from before. It makes Jason happy, my husband happy and my knees quivering. I can't wait to see what new things my future holds.

Oh, I almost forgot something, remember in the beginning I started this story off with finding the insulin syringes? Well turns out they were not male vitamins prescribed by the doctor, they were something else, something my husband promised to share with me soon. He says if I liked smoking I was going to lose it when he slammed me. Maybe I will let you know how that goes, maybe not. Now run off and go judge someone else, I don't have time for your drama. Jason is taking his shirt off and I need to talk to him about a horse.

By Clem Onojeghuo on Unsplash

Fictional Story

As the author of this story, I just want to add an endnote to let you, the reader, know that this story is all fictional. The characters are not real people and none of this actually happened as far as I am aware. I do not approve or disapprove of anyone that may or may not have this type of lifestyle. What you do is your business. I just ask that you do not use my story as a starting point or frame of reference for anything that might be morally or ethically wrong or illegal. I hope you enjoyed the story.

Mystery
Like

About the Creator

Timothy Webber

I am a U.S. Navy Veteran currently residing in Texas. I have been to a few places around the world and enjoy seeing new places and new people. I own a Cuckoo Clock repair and restoration business.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.