Fiction logo

Minus One

A Microfiction challenge entry - A story in 88 words

By Dana StewartPublished about a year ago 1 min read
16
Minus One
Photo by Vanessa Serpas on Unsplash

You winked at me over Monday Night Football. I smiled and drank stale beer. You courted me with roses and chocolates. I vowed forever. You hated the Ramen I kept on the table. You ate it anyway. Graduation and promotions. We moved to the suburbs. I forgot what your face looked like. You joined the country club. I learned how to play tennis. You hired another new secretary. I followed you to that motel. You used that degree to court me again. I smiled and drink stale beer.

Short Story
16

About the Creator

Dana Stewart

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes12 months ago

    88 words, but a lifetime together. Excellent piece, Dana.

  • PK Colleran12 months ago

    Subtle statements like: I learned how to play tennis, after writing: You joined the country club say a lot in really few words. Good work!

  • Poppy 12 months ago

    This is beautiful!!

  • C. H. Richard12 months ago

    So many relationships described in 88 words! Well done my friend ❤️

  • Gina C.12 months ago

    "I forgot what your face looked like" yet "I smiled and drink stale beer" again at the end. This describes the ups and downs of relationships so well - simply and beautifully. Reading this was a journey; also comforting. I really, really loved this!

  • JBazabout a year ago

    I like that you said stale beer. it really added to the story. once again you did it.

  • Stephen Kramer Avitabileabout a year ago

    Oh wow, so very real, and what a use of such limited words to tell a story spanning so much time! Loved it!

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    Oof, this one stung. You wrote a cycle of years in so few words. Beautifully done!

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Oh I loved how you created this whole story that kind of came full circle and with such a cool form. Excellent entry!!

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Nicely done 👍👌

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.