Fiction logo

Memoriscience

memoriscience (noun [U]) /mem.aer.Is.i.aens/ As a person: the fact, state, or quality of being momentarily aware you are missing memories, personality aspects, or are no longer who you used to be. Also: the temporary state or quality of lucidness experienced by a sufferer of dementia, amnesia or other mind-altering disabilities.

By Sean SelleckPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
2
Memoriscience
Photo by David Matos on Unsplash

“Control C...” I dragged the mouse and clicked, “…and control V.” Six words copied onto a new page. This was easily the longest document I’ve had to draft. Someone was sure to be impressed.

I looked around the office to share my achievement. Blank monitors gathered a film of dust, illuminated by the setting sun. Turning back to the screen, I read my work.

Don’t forget. Remember yourself. Remember Ellie.

I read the line, then the next line and the next, all repeating the same six words. I highlighted the last line.

“Control C...” I dragged the mouse and clicked, “…and control V.”

My red-raw finger slipped, breaking my rhythm. I hope Elli was safe at home and hadn’t ventured outside. I looked around the office to share my achievement. Outside the windows, the silent city of dead towers reflected the sunset.

Looking to my left, a colleague whose name I couldn’t remember leant forward with her head in her hands. Her skin was yellowing and tight against the bones in her hands. Her hair had fallen in clumps onto her keyboard, revealing a decaying skull.

My heart punched through my chest. Memories, relationships and society had faded away until only our routines remained. I looked back at my screen and put my fingers onto the bloodied keyboard.

Don’t forget. Remember yourself. Remember Ellie.

I need to remember Ellie. I need to keep working.

“Control C...” I patiently moved the mouse and clicked on the next line, “…and control V.”

Horror
2

About the Creator

Sean Selleck

Hobby writer with a love for genre fiction, and focussing on prose and scripts with the occasional dabble in poetry.

Reader insights

Good effort

You have potential. Keep practicing and don’t give up!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen6 months ago

    Totally believable as a word. I hope it works out.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.