Fiction logo

Mean Girls Always Win!

Stand up for yourself at all times!

By Brittany FullerPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Allowing yourself to be bullied is as wrong as bullying.

I grew up believing that if you work hard, you will reap the benefits. I was wrong. My name is Emily, and for the last twenty years I’ve worked at Huntley’s Bakery. I’ve been cooking and baking since I was ten years old. My grandma Rose raised me because my mom was a prostitute, and she was addicted to meth. Cooking with my Grams brought me so much joy. Sometimes she’d catch me crying in my room after another short phone call from Mom. She’d say “Mi Mi lets go bake sweets.” I would light up and run to the kitchen. As I got older, I started to see a pattern of submissive behavior towards everyone. My so called best friend decided to end our 10 year friendship because I confronted her about the six hundred dollars she’d failed to pay me back. My boyfriend of 5 years left me, after I expressed to him that the threesomes we were having destroyed my confidence, and I could no longer participate. I was severely depressed, and financially drained.

When I found out I was hired as lead baker, I was elated. My mistake was listening to Mr. Huntley, the owner. He never failed to verbally reward his employees, but he always failed to follow through on the promises he made. “Emily I’m gonna give you a portion of this company one day.” He told me that, after an eight hour shift that turned into twelve hours. I would be lying if I said his words did not encourage me to work hard. I’ve always been a hardworking person, but I never realized how much more I deserved. Employees quit every other day because the work was just too strenuous. I understood their reasons, but in the back of my mind, I viewed them as weak. I was the weak one. Hoping and believing that if I kissed ass long enough, I would make it to prominence, in the company.

Rema, who was a young vibrant twenty year old, was hired as cashier. Her personality was like a fire that never stopped burning. She was so rude to customers, as well as employees. Every other day she was in mediation with another employee. People would call out of work if they knew she’d be there. She was famous for interrupting conversations between employees.

Because she was so bitchy, I would bow to her behavior. She would come into work and walk by me saying “Emily don’t eat all the food today we have to sell it.” I was used to people treating me that way, so I’d let her insults roll of my shoulders.

I’d spoken to Mr. Huntley on several occasions about being promoted to general manager. It just made since. I knew how to make the schedule, handle the books, make all the menu items, and all the employees loved me; excluding Rema. It came as a total surprise, when he announced that Rema would be the new general manager. I went home and cried like I had baby colic.

The next day when I got to work, Mr. Huntley called me into the office. “ I know that you were hoping to get, the promotion, but I need you baking. You are the best , and we just don’t have the time to train any of the staff.” Bullshit! I thought to myself. Of course I just humbled myself, and said “Alright boss, I understand.” I never stood up for myself , and that is my greatest regret.

On a Saturday night we closed. I got home and realized I’d forgotten my purse. I had a key to the job, so I just decided to go back and get it. I knew we were closed Sunday, and I needed to go grocery shopping. When I opened the back door, and walked towards the break room, where my purse was left. I saw Rema and Mr. Huntley screwing in the office. I silently grabbed my purse, and left without being noticed. I could not believe what I’d saw. Rema was promoted for being a whore. I was furious.

Like the pushover I was, my plan was to go into work that Monday and act like nothing happened. Monday morning I got to work and started on my first order. It was a drop off order for a basketball game. I was to make a huge chocolate cake, and cut it into 100 slices. As I worked, all I could think about is how wrong it was for Mr. Huntley to deny my promotion because he wanted to screw the cashier. I felt so hopeless and pissed off. I could feel my insides boiling with anger, I felt like I was going to explode.

Rema came in late as usual. When she saw me wrapping plates, she said “That order needs to go out in ten minutes. Hurry up Fatso.” Something in me snapped I grabbed the first thing I saw, which was a slice of the chocolate cake I was preparing. I smashed the cake in her face with so much force she fell to the ground. I got on top of her screaming and started beating her in the face.

I was arrested for assault. Apparently I’d busted her eardrum. Why didn’t I just quit like everyone else? Why did I allow myself to be screwed over for so many years? I am now 40 years old unemployed , and facing charges. It sucks to be nice!

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Brittany Fuller

I Truly enjoy writing. I am grateful that vocal exist as a platform for writers to be creative.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.