Fiction logo

Loquiummortis

Conversing with the dead

By Colleen Millsteed Published 7 months ago 1 min read
9
Image courtesy of Pixabay

I wake feeling groggy, my head pounding and my mouth dry. I didn't sleep well last night.

Today is a heartbreaking anniversary. On this day, five years ago, I held my father's hand as he slipped quietly from this world. A day that shattered my fragile heart.

I wearily climb from my bed, pick up my phone and open a new email, typing in the email address [email protected].

Hello father,

Well another year has passed here on earth and yet it feels like only yesterday that I said goodbye to you.

Your grandchildren talk about you every day. Do you know how many times we've laughed at the memories of you dressed as a clown for their fourth birthday party? Or, how many times we have cried as we all remember when you surprised us with a much needed new car at Christmas?

We miss you terribly and yet as much as I dread this day every year, I love that I have this small window of time in which to talk to you - these few hours with you soothes my aching heart.

Your loving daughter.

Within seconds my email pings with a new message. A loving message from the past.

Thanks Dad, same time, same space next year. Arrivederci.

Microfiction
9

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Reiley7 months ago

    I loved this. The world and space you created in such a limited amount of words was just so beautiful and touching. I can see this easily being made into a series or a movie. Excellent <3

  • Mariann Carroll7 months ago

    This is no such word for it but we do talk to our past away love one . I really hope this wins. Very creative , Colleen 😍😍😍😍😍😍

  • Omgggg, if this really exists, I would love to send emails to my cat! At the risk of sounding dumb, may I know what is arrivederci?

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Impressive!!! Love it!!!

  • Grz Colm7 months ago

    ☺️👏👏 Such a great idea for the micro and chosen word Colleen! Is this website a real medium type thing or is the whole scenario imagined ? Regardless. I loved this. Made me think of Stephen king and also Mr Harrigan’s phone.

  • Prayers for all those who are missing loved ones, & for those moments of wistful clarity when we know they are near.

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    Oh my. Wouldn't that be nice? Great job on this one.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.