Fiction logo

Like a Surgeon

2nd June, Story #154/366

By L.C. SchäferPublished 21 days ago 3 min read
Like a Surgeon
Photo by Piron Guillaume on Unsplash

I like my job. That's a safe, acceptable thing to say, like a normal person. What you can't say is, "I quite like sticking knives in people".

Slicing people open and getting my hands wet and red is my job.

Things that supposedly bother people don't faze me. When a patient crashes, other people panic. I smile behind my mask and keep working. See, it takes a lot to throw me off my game.

It was a routine surgery. A little beneath, really. Appendix removal. A cake walk.

My first clue that things weren't normal was the very first incision. The skin felt wrong. Rubbery. I got the impression I was operating on a cadaver, or a dummy. It was like the room glitched around me, and I was back at school, practising.

When I found it, the appendix was sort of... gleaming. "Did you... did you see that?" I asked the nurse.

"See what?" Her eyes looked blank.

I shook my head and tried again, but this time it moved.

"Tell me you saw that!" I said.

Her brow furrowed. I do get that odd look from people from time to time, but I was sure this time that I hadn't come close to giving myself away. Something really weird was going on.

I tried again, it moved again, and I nicked something else. I didn't stop. I kept going after it, chop chop chopping in my feverish chase around the patient's abdomen.

"Doctor... I mean..." I glared at the offending colleague, hardly pausing in my work.

"We're losing him," someone said, and I'm sure they were talking about the patient.

They did their best to save him, but it wasn't good enough. My best might have been, but I've been told I've a tendency to fixate on the wrong things, and I was absolutely determined that that freakish appendix wasn't slipping away from me.

In the aftermath, up to my elbows in guts, something dawned on me. This thing wasn't human.

This inquiry is a waste of time. I didn't kill a person. And I know the records show that it was a standard appendix removal, but it wasn't. You have to believe me.

+

+ + + + + + + + + + + +

Word count, excluding note: 366

Submitted on 2nd June at 23.27

*Quick Author's Note*


First, and most importantly:
thank you so much for reading my story! The ha'penny that Vocal will toss in my hat for your eyeballs landing on this humble piece will be well-spent. Might get the cast of the MCU to come to my nephew's birthday party.

If you enjoyed this one, the very best compliment you can give me is to share it, or read another!

A Year of Stories: I'm writing a story every day this year. This one continues my 154 day streak since 1st January.


Please do consider lending your support to the other creators who are also on this madcap "a story every day" adventure. They are putting out excellent content every day!


Rachel Deeming


Gerard DiLeo

The story behind the story: Thanks to Weird Al for the title inspiration. This is the second psycho doc story I've done, but beyond that they aren't linked. (The other one was about a brain surgeon.) Here it is!


Leave a comment: Please do leave me a comment. It makes it easier for me to reciprocate the read. I know I am behind on reads, but doing my best to catch up - bear with me!

Thank you

Thank you again, most sincerely. Especially if you are one of the wonderful people who has been staunchly reading these daily scribbles since the start of the year. I see you, and appreciate you very much indeed! 😁


+ + + + + + + + + + + +

Short StoryMicrofiction

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Anu Mehjabin19 days ago

    Impressive work, keep going strong!

  • Cathy holmes20 days ago

    And, there's another surgeon I never want to me.

  • This is an interesting continuation, LC... I wonder where you will take this now? Whether it is Fantasy, Horror, or Psychological, there's a lot of directions you can go now!

  • I really liked this one. Spooky and unsettling. Great job!

  • Hannah Moore20 days ago

    well someone is falsifying records... or someone else shouldnt be practicing. Hard to tell, if you're him I guess.

  • John Cox20 days ago

    Stupid appendix! Remind me again why I always say no thanks after a surgery consult? This story does for surgeons what A Little Shop of Horrors did for dentists. Great fun as always, LC!

L.C. SchäferWritten by L.C. Schäfer

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.