Fiction logo

True Love

1st June, Story #153/366

By L.C. SchäferPublished 22 days ago 3 min read
True Love
Photo by Fahmi Fakhrudin on Unsplash

The first time he came into the cafe, I was lost. Found. Whatever. Something changed.

There was a queue, so I didn't see him at first. He was just there, stood in front of me. Took the wind right out those sails, toiling away in my chest.

I fainted once, nothing to do with him, mind. Must've, been a year before I met him. But it was like that. I lived a whole life down there, and came up gasping and disoriented. Like jumping into that cold pool in the heat of Kefalonia on our first holiday together. In those moments, when his eyes first snagged on mine and scalded me, I was washed away-

We went to the fair for our first date. He won me a toy Dalmatian. I named it Gavin. He liked tea, not coffee. I'd make him eggs Benedict for breakfast on Saturdays. He took me to Paris on our second anniversary, where he proposed. It was a dream come true, a fairytale, a whirlwind. He was just as devoted to me as I was to him.

gasp

He was in front of me, waiting, with a small polite smile.

I stumbled, mumbled, flustered, wish I'd done something with my hair. In a flash of heat, of madness... I scribbled my name and number on the cardboard cup.

We were made for each other! I knew him, like our souls had met before.

When I found out about her, my jealousy raged. How long had they been together? Ages. Since before he met me. He won't leave her.

I let myself in using my key, ready to do something drastic to save us. Hot anger fizzing all the way to the ends of my fingers, which wrapped themselves around the base of an ornament when I heard the door open. I knew that tart was coming.

It was only when I was looking down at the red mess in front of me and I saw my beloved and realised he'd come home early.

So yes, Officer. I did it, but I swear I didn't mean to.

"But Ms. Coates, you'd never actually been on a date with Mr Lions, had you?"

+ + + + + + + + + + + +

Word count, excluding note: 366

Submitted on 1st June at 18.07

*Quick Author's Note*


First, and most importantly:
thank you so much for reading my story! The ha'penny that Vocal will toss in my hat for your eyeballs landing on this humble piece will be well-spent. I need some more gold teaspoons.

If you enjoyed this one, the very best compliment you can give me is to share it, or read another!

A Year of Stories: I'm writing a story every day this year. This one continues my 153 day streak since 1st January. I am so invested! There is no stopping me now!


Please do consider lending your support to the other creators who are also on this madcap "a story every day" adventure. They are putting out excellent content every day!


Rachel Deeming


Gerard DiLeo


Leave a comment: Please do leave me a comment. It makes it easier for me to reciprocate the read. I know I am behind on reads, but doig my best to catch up - bear with me!

Thank you

Thank you again, most sincerely. Especially if you are one of the wonderful people who has been staunchly reading these daily scribbles since the start of the year. I see you, and appreciate you very much indeed! 😁


+ + + + + + + + + + + +

Microfiction

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (10)

  • Anu Mehjabin19 days ago

    Amazing content, keep going!

  • Cathy holmes19 days ago

    Shes completely out to lunch.

  • Oh my, she cray cray but I love her! Hehehehehhehe

  • John Cox22 days ago

    That was a seriously twisty twist! Took me completely by surprise! Wonderful story!

  • Caroline Craven22 days ago

    Oof. Some twist! Wasn’t expecting that. Awesome.

  • Another excellent story, although I publish daily I don't think I have the discipline to do a story a day

  • First of all f that nice work you write outstandingly. You have gotten so good. This story a thing day has wholly paid off for you

  • Sweileh 88822 days ago

    Interesting and delicious content. Keep posting more now.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)22 days ago

    Oh!! This was such an interesting point of view and I love the innocent feel of it with a hint of creepiness that's confirmed at the end!! Great work LC!!

  • Well-wrought! This story is an example of the usual way fantasy becomes reality... not the way we'd prefer. Animus projected, fantasy... rejected!

L.C. SchäferWritten by L.C. Schäfer

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.