Fiction logo

Lifeless Impetus

Chomps

By David BrandyPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

Another wave of pain washes on the shore of my psyche. I can only remember pain. The endless pit in that is my stomach echoes out another trumpeting grumble. All I can remember is hunger. Is that all? Is that what I am? Pain and hunger? No, I remember, I remember something else...

"RRRRRAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHH!" I hear my voice shout.

Was that me? Did I just growl? Dear gosh I sound demonic. Here comes the pain again. It hurts so much that I stumble as I walk. I am walking? I wish I knew where I was walking to. Maybe its the hunger that leads me, maybe its the pain. Maybe its... its...

A memory floods my dead mind and all of the sudden I am in a chamber. A thick plexiglass chamber. I can almost feel the walls, they aren't far away. I'm in a cage. A clear cage with lights flooding my vision. It is so bright I can't see out, but I can see myself. Nearly all of me. I am stripped down to my bra, underwear, and my heart-shaped locket.

"Somethings are easy to do, like finding a beautiful woman attractive, or eating. Other things are hard, like winning a chess match against a grand master, or breaking through one of my strongholds. Yet, somehow, you have broken through many of mine." Says a deep and distorted voice.

"Are you going to give me a medal or something?" I respond to the voice in the brightness.

"You are funny." Says the voice, not laughing, "You are brave. You may break, you may stay unbroken. Either way, this will be pleasurable for me."

"Ah, does that make you a masochist or a sadist? I always get those mixed up."

This time the voice seems to smile, "It is time for you to tell me how you did it, how you broke through my strongholds. I know you will not tell me, not without motivation."

At that very moment I hear the grinding of machines as the ceiling of my cage is replaced with a box. A box that has a trap door at the bottom. A box that seems to be chattering.

"How did you break through my strongholds?" Asks the dark voice with a light tone.

"It was just a bit of WD-40, then I worked the hinges a bit. You guys really need a better maintenance guy. How do you even find one of them in the apocalypse?"

The voice didn't answer me, in response all I got was the box opening slowly and only a few inches. It was enough for me to look inside and it horrified me, but I didn't show it. At least I hoped it didn't show.

"Oh, I see. You collect." I say.

"Less funny now. Is that fear I hear?" The voice shouted the word "fear" and I flinched involuntarily.

"Don't let it go to your head, I'm excited."

There isn't a response from the voice, the box just opened more and it confirmed what I thought I saw. Heads. Chomping, oozing, eye bulging, undying, undead, heads. A shiver goes through my spine, and I feel the rest of my body do the same.

"Now you are scared," Says the voice with sudden malice, "Talk, or die. Either way, this will make me very happy."

"I will tell you," I say with sudden fear in my eyes, "I will tell you everything. Give me a second chance!"

The box seemed to imperceptibly close a little, and the voice spoke again, "Yes? Give you a second chance?"

"Please, give me one, so I can shove it up your ass." I say with sudden steel.

"Good, good, that was honestly the response I was hoping for." The voice says with a definite smile this time.

I try to keep my breathing steady as the box begins to open with a sudden pep. At first a single, putrid, chomping, decapitated, head falls from the opening trap door. I press myself to the opposite side of the box and realize just how cold the plexiglass is on my back. My brain races and I can't seem to grasp any of my thoughts, then I remember something. Lyrics come to mind and I start to sing.

"We'll meet again

Don't know where

Don't know when."

Another few heads come from the horrifying box and the sound of the chomping seems to have grown a thousand fold. One of them even bounces off of my head and then I feel one of them bite my big toe off. I yelp in pain, but it leads into another bar of the song as I kick the head away.

"But I know we'll meet again some sunny day

Keep smiling through

Just like you always do."

The box opens up completely and all at once I am flooded with the heads from hell. I try not to cry as I am covered in putrid pain and death. No part of my body is spared, nothing of me is safe from the constant chomping, killing me very quickly. All I can do is shout, so I shout one last line with my final breath.

"TILL THE BLUE SKIES DRIVE THE DARK CLOUDS FAR AWAY!"

I am walking again... What is driving me? The pain? The hunger? No... Neither of them. It is something else. It is revenge.

Horror
Like

About the Creator

David Brandy

My very first story crafting was an imaginary game that me and my two younger brothers would play when I was 12. My love of storytelling manifested itself quickly. Today I am a husband, father, and business owner.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.