Fiction logo

Let's Play a Game...

A Road Trip Gone Wrong

By Kendall Defoe Published 7 months ago 6 min read
7
Let's Play a Game...
Photo by Kornél Máhl on Unsplash

“Okay, we still have a ways to go… Wanna play a game?

“Okay, let’s play, ‘I spy with my little eye…something that begins with the letter…’ Anyone?

“Let’s start with L. Right, let’s see… Laptop – put that away, Billy; you got a phone. Laura, my amazing daughter…now scowling. Lilac air freshener. The love of my life…

“So, what about another letter?

“Anyone?

“Okay, a different game. Maybe we should do a new one called ‘Review’. Ever heard of it?

“Of course I just made it up. So let me explain the rules: each one of us is going to talk about what happened in the last twenty-four hours. If the stories we have do not match up or seem like they could not have happened, one of the other people in the car can challenge the story and jump in with the truth. Sounds like fun?

“Who wants to go first?

“Anyone?

“Okay, I’ll get the ball started. Kinda boring just driving in the car with the radio off…I mean, not working anymore, so I will talk first. Remember: you can jump in with the truth if you think I missed something, or just did not mention a key point. So, you all ready?

“Okay…Let’s see… We left the hotel around 6 am and got a big head start on the rest of our…

“Yes, I am gonna get to that, Billy. Obviously, everyone in the car is thinking of that.

“Yes, Laura, your mom knows all about this. But we should hear all sides, right? Everyone has an opinion and an excuse…

“So, bright and early, 6 am, in the car. I have all of the bags ready and am waiting in the hallway when some people come out of a room down the hall. Now, it looks like they don’t want anyone to notice them, but I can see…

“Yes, Billy. I should have minded my own business. Little too late for that now, right. So, I can see that they have their bags out, maybe – maybe – they want to be left alone, but I am a gentleman, right? Everyone agree on that? I did not want to let them hand their stuff alone like that. The woman…

“Laura, I would have helped her no matter what she looked like. A woman standing in a hallway with a pile of luggage and no one around to help her…

“I am keeping my eyes on the road. Got no choice.

“So, I go over and ask if she was okay with all of that. She sees that I am alone in the hallway – see, you did not know this part – and looks me over to wonder what she should say next. All I heard was, ‘You should go back to your room, sir.’

“Right, that was a sign, Billy. Dumb dad didn’t get it. But like I said, too late…

“Honey, I can see the next exit. Don’t worry.

“So, I decided to ask why, and then another guy comes out of the room. I noticed how they looked like twins and this guy was all grunts and bad cologne as he got up in my face and used some pretty ugly language when asking who I was. The woman tried to stand between us, but he was already in my face. I explained that we had checked out and I was asking…

“No, I did not hit him. I’m not that tough. He just…

“Can I go on with this while we still have time?

“Great.

“So, he is looking me over, the woman too, and then my beautiful and courageous better half is already speed-walking down the hallway to find out what was going on. Think that’s why nothing happened…at first. I turned when I heard you calling, dear, and then I felt myself make contact with that ape in black. And then he fell.

“No, I did not mean to do it. Laura, your dad is many things, but definitely not suicidal or interested in throwing hands early in the morning in a hotel…motel… I just turned too quickly – so did he – to see my beloved coming down the hall, and the man somehow ended up on the floor.

“Yes, Billy, I know you heard it. The whole floor must have heard it. That woman… Why’d she have to go screaming her head off like that? Her…well, let’s call it ‘husband’, wasn’t hurt or anything. Just embarrassed to be stumbling over some suitcases and a gym bag on the floor. No one was going to take a thing…

“See, exit. I can still drive after all this.

“Now, this is where I expect you all to have your own versions of the story. Your mother says that I ran – ran – back to the room to get you all up and ready for the trip. I say I walked and that you guys were already up and had things packed. Someone – Billy – complained about not having breakfast, but your beautiful mother decided to skip it and asked us to ‘haul ass to the car!’ Rather colorful for a Sunday, I think…

“Oh, Billy… Don’t say that about your mother. The woman raised you; she raised your sister; she married me. Don’t you think she deserves a little bit more from us than your complaining? Don’t you think that we all have secrets?

“Yes, Laura, I agree. If she had told us more about why she wanted us to visit that hotel for that particular night, things might have been a little different for us now, but that’s a done deal. We just have to settle things as they are. Just as my beautiful wife wants them to…

“Ah, law enforcement! That’s another ‘L’!. Not one of you could think of that one until they passed us, right? Quite a mess at the hotel and no one to suspect a thing about it if we stay on these side roads and keep quiet. No one to say a thing to us if you…

“Yes, I’ll keep driving, my dear. You don’t have to remind us of what you did, or why you brought the gun. We understand.

“Guess I win…?

“Ha, ha.”

Indeed...

*

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

Short StoryPsychologicalMysteryHumor
7

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Angie the Archivist 📚🪶7 months ago

    Loved this quirky story! On our regular 1200 to 2000 km road trips in Australia , we used to play “I spy with my big fat juicy eye…” & also guessed the songs that we hummed.

  • Real Poetic7 months ago

    Your prose is like a dance. It’s so elegant and on point. You know how to captivate the audience from beginning to end. 🩵👏🏼 The game also sounds like much fun! I’d love to try it.

  • Shirley Belk7 months ago

    Very engaging and liked the humor throughout. Thanks for sharing your gifts!

  • Hannah Moore7 months ago

    I love the way you told this, I really wanted to hear each next bit, my mind was prying under those paragraphs.

  • Stephanie Hoogstad7 months ago

    This is a very interesting way to tell a story. I’m also really curious now as to what the wife might have done…

  • Mariann Carroll7 months ago

    Nice 😊

  • ThatWriterWoman7 months ago

    You are a master of telling stories via dialogue! Well done on this one Kendall!

  • What a way to tell the story. So much fun, Kendall.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.