Fiction logo

Lela: Black Beauty

A Short Story.

By Pore CamaraPublished 7 months ago 6 min read
9

A young black woman rocks in her chair as a stylist works on her hair. The light-mood conversations between them elicit giggles and laughter often. The stylist steps back once in a while to assess her work before resuming to fix whatever she noticed. The door opens and a man in a dapper suit walks in and grabbed her coffee cup

“Simon, don’t you dare!!!” she growled.

Simon smirked devilishly as he dumped the cup in the bin and turn around to face a scowling woman. “Lela, caffeine gives you wrinkles and I hate to see imperfections on you. Emma, loosen that braids a bit, we can’t risk a headache tonight.” He took his seat on the table in front of her and drops a magazine on her lap. “ Check that out, Sweetheart,” he winked.

Lela cringed at the nickname she had gained since the beauty contest began and flipped through the pages. She landed at the page Simon wanted her to see, right in the middle of the magazine, all the contestants on display. The magazine had done a back story on them and staking their chances in the upcoming events of the beauty contest. Lela still can’t believe she agreed to this. She had no chance against all these beauties for the Miss New York USA.

“I still can’t believe I agreed to this. Look at me, I look so hideous compared to other girls on paper. How will anyone see this and vote for me?” she voiced while gesturing wilding at the faces on the paper.

Emma scoffed. “I’ve been a hairstylist in this industry for a long time and if I mention, you’re one of the most gorgeous to grace the runway, you’ve to believe me. Simon saw you through a camera lens and yet you still think you’re not photogenic.”

Simon walked around her chair and look straight at her in the mirror. “If the hideous girl could make it to the finals, I think it’s time she accepted it and stopped picking it apart.

You’ve grown from that girl in the school yearbook to the town’s Sweetheart. Now, go be their Queen even though you’re still the girl from the coffee shop to me.”

***

Lela Cromwell had become an overnight sensation in New York City and part of the world but she had not spent her childhood strutting the hallway of her family house. It was rather a deal she made with one stubborn agent that saw her smiling at cameras and walking the runway.

The first spring of 2007, she had stumbled out of her dark apartment and into Bo’s Café and Bakery. Lela begrudgingly ordered her regular and took her seat by the window savoring every precious minute before clocking in at work.

“Too much caffeine will give you wrinkles, even though, Black does not crack.” A white man pulled the empty chair in front of her and sat down. He placed his camera on the table and lean back in the chair.

Lela trailed her eyes from his chestnut brown hair to his beard and back to his green hazel eyes. The confidence and slight anger in them made her angrier and she couldn’t help her outburst. “So, you think I’m wrinkled and aged? Or a black woman enjoying her coffee is the problem? You don’t have to faint over it, I was leaving.” She started rummaging through her bag for her purse.

He shot his hands forward to stop her from leaving but earned a glare instead. He withdrew himself and she started to walk out. He ran after her trying to salvage the situation.

“ Sorry, I didn’t mean to be rude or come off strong to you. I’m Simon and a modeling agent.

I just wanted to talk to you about an upcoming contest.”

Lela kept walking and cursing under her breath. Simon crossed in front of her and she smacked into him.

“Oh, we’re resorting to murder now, are we?” She said breathlessly. She wished her voice came out strong and now that she was cornered, she hoped she won’t land herself in trouble with her big mouth.

“I’m sorry. No one is killing anyone. I just wanted to apologize and give you this.”

He extended his card and she took it out of his hand but continued glaring. Simon sighed and stepped out of her way. He kept on looking at her back until she took a turn and he walked back dejectedly.

***

Just above them, muffled noises and music signifies the commencement of the ceremony. All the contestants are gathered at backstage close to the stage and anxious managers and stylists hovered around them to make sure their models are in perfect shape. Lela stood nervously as she takes in the gorgeous ladies in their dazzling gowns.

“You’re ready,” whispered Simon as he squeezed her hand to reassure her. Lela leaned into him and zapped some of his confidence because this man beside her has nerves of steel.

Just then, the hosts announced the commencement of the final events. As contestants got called upon, Lela couldn’t help but wondered if ‘The School Belles’ followed the contest events. The high school bullies made fun of her especially her pictures in yearbooks. Was it her fault if the photographer was so impatient or if the abrupt shutter light always blinded her before she was ready? She can still remember the bad words that made her eat lunches under the tree and hate cameras.

As she ascended the platform, she couldn’t help but see how ironic life can be. Just like a phoenix, she welcomed the change and smiled as the spotlights danced on her instead of throwing her off.

***

Simon looked at the pictures he had taken from the street and just one particular picture stood out. He couldn’t stop cringing at how the confrontation had gone that day. He picked the picture and elevated it like a priest worshiping a goddess. Even from that far, he could still see the tiny wrinkles at the corner of her eyes as she sipped her coffee. He moved his fingers over it as if to smoothen it. That tiny imperfections on such perfection had angered him that he had ruined every chance he had.

The ringing of his phone pulled him out of his reverie and he sighed before answering.

“Hello, Simon Grant speaking.”

“Hi. Simon. This is Lela. You gave me your card as an apology for being a jerk the other day.”

Simon had to refrain from jumping or sounding so excited. “ Hey, Lela. I’m still sorry about that day. I agree, I was a total jerk but you’ve to accept you overreacted too. You could have heard me out before nailing me to the crucifix.”

Lela laughed lightly and he knew at that moment he had a chance after all. He pushed forward, “did you go through my website before calling or you called to hear me grovel some more?”

“I went through your website and I’m curious why you chose me.”

“I saw you through a camera lens and I knew you were the one.”

***

Before I joined a beauty contest, I always thought the winners knew they were going to be called and their reactions are acts. There’s no way in the world that everyone reacts the same way.

Look at me doing the same thing as my names are called. Confetti rain on us as I shout and break down in tears. I couldn’t believe I did it as the crown was placed on my head and other awards were given. Even my acceptance speech was a blur. Simon hugged me and said, “I told you, you’re the one”. I laughed and hugged him back as there was no argument left in me.

The End

PsychologicalShort StoryMicrofictionHumorAdventure
9

About the Creator

Pore Camara

I’m known as Cammy. One thing I have not been able to outgrow is my inquisitive nature. This has made me restless, overthink and even passionate about everything. The good thing is that it got me reading and writing most of the time.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • peter oloyede7 months ago

    What a wonderful piece 🥂. Keep it up

  • aysha umar7 months ago

    Wow!!, I’m proud of you girl, so brilliant and inspiring.

  • Komolafe Okiki 7 months ago

    This is what you can call brilliant writing. It just blew my mind away. You have mastery in storytelling.

  • Mouhameddaye C7 months ago

    This was well crafted and beautifully scripted. In a world where people have low attention span, this is a very good read. Captivating till the end. Great work Pore 👍

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.