Fiction logo

Two peas in a Pod

A Short Story

By Pore CamaraPublished 4 months ago 2 min read
5

Walking down the stairs to the sound of loud laughter and giggles coming from the kitchen, the two culprits turned to look at me in sync and immediately as I stood at the door.

“Right on cue, hun. Peanut and I were making early breakfast for the day” my husband greeted with his messy curls all over his face while he kneaded the dough.

I came close to the work table and kissed his shoulder as I ruffled that cutie’s hair. My daughter is also cutting up strawberries with the same concentration as her dad. I couldn’t help but notice how they look alike at that very moment. Hands moving, foreheads creased and smiles lingered on their faces.

“What’s the occasion? What did I miss between the waking hours?” I asked as I got the coffee pot running.

“Daddy's taking us to a place he won’t tell but he said it’s for you” my daughter happily indulged.

A look passed between us and I sighed “Mark, that is not necessary, you know. I’m fine.”

“Cancer is not fine and terminal is not a good word either” Mark scoffed and hastily threw the dough in the oven. Malia frowned and her lips started to quiver, he picked her off the table and hugged her while rubbing her back.

I stood like a ghost for a while and slowly started to back away from the kitchen.

“What do you think about this?”

A voice came from right behind me yet I jolted when I felt a hand on my shoulder. My best friend’s concerned face came into view and I forced a smile. I looked around and took in the pale teal and bright pink decorations and I nodded in approval. A raised podium for the priest and a coffin lay a few inches below.

“Can I get a moment please?” I didn’t wait for a response as I began to approach the coffin. It was simple and had a little engraving in the middle of the lid “M&M”. I traced it until I could only feel it as tears shone in my eyes.

Everyone had agreed it was a freak of nature and that my husband and daughter had been in the water when the lightning struck hence the electric shock drowning.

Stream of ConsciousnessShort Storyfamily
5

About the Creator

Pore Camara

I’m known as Cammy. One thing I have not been able to outgrow is my inquisitive nature. This has made me restless, overthink and even passionate about everything. The good thing is that it got me reading and writing most of the time.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.