Fiction logo

Inside the Mirror

A Story

By Mother CombsPublished 2 months ago 2 min read
11

Sitting in bed, I stare at the dark mirror and wonder how I get into these messes. It was like trouble and bad luck just followed me everywhere. Nothing good seemed to happen to me since my parents died when I was nineteen.

Now, I was thirty-two, and I thought my luck had changed. I had a fiancee and had just purchased a house at auction. Granted, the house in question had a mysterious death in it, but because of that, no one else wanted it too badly, and I got it real cheap. I was excited about all the changes I could suddenly make.

Then came the day I was moving into my new house and showing my fiancee around. We went to the master bedroom, and I was excitedly showing her the balcony when she asked what was under the blanket on the wall. Before I could answer her, she yanked the blanket down, revealing an antique framed mirror that showed a room that was not the room we were in. I thought I saw a shadow moving around in the mirror, but I couldn’t be sure as everything was so dark in the mirror.

My fiancee started hollering for me to put the blanket back on. I rushed to grab the blanket and accidentally touched a corner of it to the mirror. Something dark reached, grabbed the corner, and pulled the blanket through the mirror. At first, I started pulling the blanket back out, then thought better of it, for I didn’t want to drag whatever was on the other end out to this side. As I let go of the blanket, and it went through the mirror, I could have sworn I heard something growl and say, “Kill yourself, or I will.”

So, I’ve been too scared for the last week to take my eyes off the mirror. I’ve tried to cover it up, but the blanket is always on the floor come morning. Then, this morning, I received a phone call that my fiancee had killed herself during the night. So, since I got home, I’ve sat in this chair looking at the mirror that showed another view, waiting for something to remove the blanket and show its horrendous face and come through the mirror. I waited for my end.

MicrofictionPsychologicalShort StoryHorrorCONTENT WARNING
11

About the Creator

Mother Combs

Come near, sit a spell, and listen to tales of old as I sit and rock by my fire. I'll serve you some cocoa and cookies as I tell you of the time long gone by when your Greats-greats once lived.

Admin = ViM

PViM

Mike Judey Dharr Grz

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock2 months ago

    That is a spate of bad luck. I must reflect upon this. (Or not, if I'm sufficiently unlucky as to find that mirror, lol.)

  • Oooo, this reminded me of the movie, Oculus. Your story was sooooo creepy! I freaking loved it!

  • TheSpinstress2 months ago

    Absolutely horrifying. :o

  • Rene Peters2 months ago

    This is so dark... Love it!!!

  • Paul Stewart2 months ago

    Ooooooooooh dark. This is some powerful mircofictioning, Sharon, well done. I love stuff involving mirrors so this was an easy sell to me. You did this wonderfully though.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.