Fiction logo

I'm Not Mad

An entry for RM Stockton's ๐Œ๐š๐ซ๐œ๐ก ๐–๐ซ๐ข๐ญ๐ž ๐‚๐ฅ๐ฎ๐› ๐๐ซ๐จ๐ฆ๐ฉ๐ญ (๐”๐ง๐จ๐Ÿ๐Ÿ๐ข๐œ๐ข๐š๐ฅ ๐‚๐ก๐š๐ฅ๐ฅ๐ž๐ง๐ ๐ž)

By Rachel DeemingPublished 2 months ago โ€ข 3 min read
12
I'm Not Mad
Photo by Liza Polyanskaya on Unsplash

I'm not mad. I'm not mad. I'm not mad.

It was here. I know it was. Someone has moved it. Why would they do that?

I'm not mad. I'm not mad. I'm not mad.

I just need to find it. When I find it all will be fine. No-one will be mad with me.

I'm not mad. I'm just forgetful. Not mad. Not neglectful. Just forgetful. Not mad.

Mad suggests crazy. I'm not crazy. I'm just a little ditsy. I do no harm. I'm not mad.

It's him who thinks I'm mad. He wants me to think I'm mad. I'm not mad.

I wish I could find it! I'm running out of time! I need to keep calm or I'll go mad!

I'm not mad though. Just forgetful. It's him who thinks I'm mad.

It's him who's mad. He will be mad. Oh God.

Where is it? Where is it?

Panic! Panic! Panic!

Don't panic. Don't panic. Don't panic.

It's here somewhere. I can find it. I can find it! I'm not mad.

But where is it?

It's not here! Oh, where are you? I must find you!

I must! What can I do? What can I do?!

I'm scared.

Breathe. In. Out. In. Out.

Think! Think! Think!

I need to find it!

This is driving me MAD! Where is it?

I'm going to be in trouble? Oh! Where is it? I need help.

I'm going mad. I'm going mad! He'll go mad!

What should I do? I can't find it. It's not here.

Why isn't it here? I know it's here. I know it. I'm not mad.

But I had it! I know I had it. I'm not going mad. It's here somewhere.

I can't think! I need to think! He's going to go mad! HE'S GOING TO GO MAD!

Calm. Calm. Calm.

Breathe. Breathe. Breathe.

I'm not mad. I'm not. We can find this. Together.

It will be fine. We just need to look harder. We're not going mad.

I can hear something! It's him! Oh no! OH NO!

He's here! He's going to be so mad! So mad!

I tried to find it! I tried! I'm not mad! I tried! I'm not mad!

I'm sorry. I'm sorry. I tried. I'm not mad.

Please believe me. Please! I tried.

Please don't be mad. Please don't be mad.

Please don't lock me away.

Please don't hurt me.

Please.

I'm not mad.

I'm not.

***

You need to imagine the white rabbit from "Alice's Adventures in Wonderland" through this or a Gollum-esque style dialogue with oneself. Are they the mutterings of a mad person? Maybe. I wanted to get the sense of someone scared and in a panic over something which mattered but more to someone else than to them but the voice would have to live with the consequences. The holds people have over others fascinate me.

I was going to have this as one of my stories every day but after tinkering with it, it went over 366 words, my self-imposed limit as well as L.C. Schรคfer's advisory one and I didn't want to cut it down.

This is prose but it reads like a poem on the page. I could have done it in one long stream of consciousness thing but I find stuff like that hard to read so I have ordered it with some formatting to aid comprehension.

This is an entry for an awesome unofficial challenge created by RM Stockton to keep the sparks flying in the Vocal collective. I love these and the Vocalites who think them up:

Thanks for stopping by! If you do read it, please do leave a comment as I love to interact with my readers.

Stream of ConsciousnessShort StoryPsychologicalMicrofictionCONTENT WARNING
12

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Storyteller. Poet. Reviewer. Traveller.

I love to write. Check me out in the many places where I pop up:

Medium

My blog

Reedsy

Linkedin

Goodreads

X

Facebook

Beware of imitators.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen2 months ago

    I just wonder what was lost that spawned this bout of madness. Was it tangible or of the imagination. Different types of crazy mad. Madness indeed

  • I LOVE this, Rachel! This is so perfect to be read aloud. I love how it plays on the different meanings of mad. I also love the endless possibilities this provides. It takes on entirely different meanings depending on what is missing and who is delivering this monologue. I even read it back through and imagined this was a dog who moved its person's shoe, but now can't remember where. This is a clever and versatile piece!

  • Sian N. Clutton2 months ago

    This is brilliant. I read it as a poem after a few lines. I wonder what they were looking for?

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    Utterly fantastic. I could hear the terror in her voice as I read. It worked perfectly. She's not mad, just terrified.

  • This was incredible Rachel! So well done. The dialogue perfectly fit the white rabbit

  • Omgggg, it's like reading the thoughts that go through my head!! This was sooooo relatable!

  • Alice in Wonderland was precisely what I was thinking as I read this. I wanted to ask, "Were you wearing a mad hat as you wrote this?" I know, I'm a card. Let me just give a grin & I shall disappear (in a somewhat catty way.)

  • Andrea Corwin 2 months ago

    I was waiting for the big abusive guy to show up! well done.

  • D.K. Shepard2 months ago

    Such devolution! I think the formatting really helped establish the banter like exchange. I too was curious about what was lost

  • L.C. Schรคfer2 months ago

    The repetition really works in this. The voice is ๐Ÿ‘ ๐Ÿ‘Œ

  • Tomos Jackson2 months ago

    Very good, I really liked how the word "mad" was played with, both using it meaning "angry" and "insane" which really adds to that element of confusion that lends itself to the panic of the main character that is tipping them over the edge. Makes one wonder what is lost?

  • John Cox2 months ago

    Wow! This piece totally works! Simply brilliant storytelling!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.