Fiction logo

I Like, I love, I'm in love with you

I didn't know how much I loved you until...

By AbikaPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
I Like, I love, I'm in love with you
Photo by Ian Schneider on Unsplash

I'm sure you have read many different flavors of love stories. Indeed everyone has their own story about how they found love. Although these stories all end in the same, with the boy getting the girl, mine takes you on a rollercoaster ride before love prevails. So this is my love story from start to finish.

How early would you say someone can fall in love? Way back in elementary school, I met this young man I liked. He was great, smiled with dimples, was soft-spoken, and paid attention to the little things. More so, he sat right across from me, and me being the mischievous one, I showed my interest by kicking him in the shin.

He brightened my days and lightened my heart, but I would never tell him that. What did I really know about love in elementary school? Instead, I settled for I like you, and we will always be good friends. That was a commitment I could live with. I was uncertain we would be at the same high school after the 6th grade.

We didn't know it then, but faith and God had already set our paths parallel. After 6th grade, we were placed at the same high school. Though we were no longer in the same class, we were never too far from each other. I mostly went to him, what can I say, I liked this boy.

During some of the darkest days of my childhood, he was a constant light. Everything I needed to vent or talk about another boy I had a crush on, he lent his ear. He knew so much about me, and I was oblivious to his true feelings.

The first time he shared how he felt, we were in the 9th grade. At the time, I was suffering from acne and had an ex-boyfriend (thinking back, I'm wondering what my 14-year-old self knew about having a boyfriend). Nevertheless, I told him I preferred we remain friends, that way, we wouldn't break each other's hearts. That wasn't the complete truth. I was scared to let him know how I truly felt.

Like a friend, he moved on, and we were friends with separate romantic lives but still grew closer, year after year. Our relationship evolved from simple smiles and glances to holding hands, which we tried to disguise as harmless hand-play. At this point, the only persons who didn't see how much we really loved each other were Us.

In the 11th grade, while we were preparing for college, he made another attempt to make us a couple. And I selfishly turned him down, keeping him in the friends-zone. I was blind to the blow our friendship took at that time. But, I was blinded by my new relationship and completely neglected our friendship. Deep-down I knew I was lying to myself because I was sure now I loved him. I just couldn't bring myself to tell him so.

High school ended, and we were separated by a wedge between us. Now we didn't see much of each other. Many of our encounters were glances on the catwalk in college and the occasional "hi" when we passed closer.

I am in love with you

"Falling in love with this man was not something I thought I could ever do. He is my friend, my best friend, a romantic relationship would definitely ruin what we have now. I cannot fall in love with you."

College gave us a break from each other. We both went separate ways, built relationships and messed around. We still talk, a few text messages here and there. "This was for the best," I thought, we cannot be more than friends. Things went quiet between us for four years.

On the 1st of May, 2016 something changed. It was the day we reconnect and the beginning of a beautiful life, I didn't know existed. This man had me right where he wanted. I had ended a relationship that lasted three years and I needed a shoulder to keep me up. There is no better shoulder than your best friend, right?

But my friend took advantage that day. I was given an ultimatum, "Either you agree to be my girlfriend or I am no longer your friend." My heart sunk to my toes and tears literally fell from my eyes. It took me all but five minutes to respond in agreement. I thought it was better to take a chance with him than to lose him altogether.

What the heck am I doing?

When I agreed to this relationship, we were miles apart, like different continents apart. But I wanted to make it work, and so did he. The first opportunity he got to come to see me he did, and I welcomed it. We spent 3 days together mostly tucked away in his hotel room. I was satisfied in more ways than one.

That was the moment I realized how different I felt and how right this relationship felt. The lyrics to the song "Lucky" by Jason Mraz and Colbie Caillat kept replaying in my mind. I am in love with my best friend, and I feel lucky to be where I am. I couldn't be happier.

Although we live millions of miles apart, it took only a few months before he asked me to marry him. It was over skype but he did everything, and when he came to see, he brought the ring and got down on one knee again. We were both half-dressed standing in the middle of a hotel room and there he was on one knee asking me to spend the rest of my life with him.

That was the first time I cried bitterly, all joyful and happy tears. My, "yes," came out as a whimper because I couldn't stop crying. I found out what it meant to have my heart swollen with joy. He brought me the first of many things. I couldn't wait to begin my life with this man.

I fell in love with my best friend when I was 12. I didn't know it then, but our paths were aligned because God made him for me and me for him. He is my best friend, There is no one else I want to be with, even when we argue. I live for his love daily and I am sure to always make him feel loved.

Love
Like

About the Creator

Abika

I started writing because it was my way to vent. Now I absolutely enjoyed writing and sharing.

I also write at Medium, find me at:

Medium lisby230.medium.com

Twitter Healthwise94358280

facebook peppingyourstep

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.