Fiction logo

I Follow My Training

Training is given to soldiers for one reason, and one reason only. So, that they will follow it. Perhaps blindly. Perhaps with vision. In any event, they must follow their training.

By Stephen Kramer AvitabilePublished 12 months ago 3 min read
10
I Follow My Training
Photo by Specna Arms on Unsplash

This story was originally published on Medium.

**************

I set the proximity mine down next to the bush. It's fairly hidden by the overhang of the long leaves. I don't tell anyone that it is there because everyone on my side will be left unharmed.

This proximity mine will only go off when the enemy nears it. Not if a friendly is nearby. Don't ask me how it does it, but it does it. It senses a similar smell all of us have perhaps. We all eat many of the same meals, maybe it detects a certain spice. A spice that is only used by our cooks, common in our cooking, not the cooking of other armies. The spice is pungent, it comes through our pores. If the mine detects that scent it will not go off, if it doesn't detect the scent, it will go off. Maybe. Or perhaps it can see, it can see details to our clothing, our uniform.

However it does it, it does it.

But we don't need to explain where we set our proximity mines. That is something we know.

We move along farther through the rugged terrain. We split up. One by one, we separate from the group, we are all alone. I move along more and more, even farther from the rest of my troop I am sure.

I finally come up on the enemy… I am unaware if others in my troop know the enemy is here. But I do.

I open fire. I hardly aim, I just let shots ring free. Shots shower back towards me. I am hit once, twice, in the midsection. I duck for cover. I follow my training. Allow time to pass, do not allow more bullets to hit you. It hurts… but I count it out… all the way to five seconds… then the redness surrounding my peripheral vision vanishes… the pain is gone… the bullets have expunged from my body.

I feel healthy again. I pop up and ring out more shots. Enemies fall. I am hit several more times. Too much for my body. I fall. I am motionless.

I awaken in a completely different spot… hundreds of feet away. I repeat the process. I let bullets fly from my cannon… bullets fly from other cannons and towards me. I collapse again.

I am awake again, a different spot. I run through the rugged terrain. It looks familiar. I come across enemies, trying to be more careful now. Letting shots fly, ducking for cover, repeating over and over. Eventually, I run out of bullets as I am outnumbered by the enemy. I hide behind a wall for cover. I look at the dead body beside me. It is me… me that died several minutes ago… with the same gun I am using now. Lucky me.

I unload the bullets from the dead me's gun and put them into mine. I'm reloaded. I pop back up and let shots ring out at the enemy. After a few seconds of this, everything freezes. Someone shouts about a bad internet connection. A 10-year old boy complains that his mom is making him clean his room. Everything goes dark. I am told to wait… I am told to wait until the kids are ready to play with me again.

I wait. I follow my training. I wait.

**************

If you enjoyed this story and want to read more of my work, then please come check out my website where I post all my latest work, plus you can even subscribe for updates!

And be sure to watch out for mines!

FantasySci Fi
10

About the Creator

Stephen Kramer Avitabile

I'm a creative writer in the way that I write. I hold the pen in this unique and creative way you've never seen. The content which I write... well, it's still to be determined if that's any good.

https://www.stephenavitabilewriting.com/

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Real Poetic11 months ago

    I have so much respect for soldiers. I love this! Incredible.

  • Andrei Z.12 months ago

    These freaking intelligent mines!😅

  • This was an entertaining read. For a moment, you got me there.

  • And I was thinking, "Edge of Tomorrow". One of these days another 10-year-old kid is gonna hack into a missile silo thinking once again that "Fail Safe" is just a game.

  • Lol, the waking up in different places and just carrying on gave it away! But I was entertained the whole time! This was brilliant and so creativeA

  • L.C. Schäfer12 months ago

    I was convinced you were going to go with the Prestige for this one, and then you came at me in the last few seconds with a video game character! Brilliant 😁

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.