Fiction logo

I Can See You

I Know Your Every Move. I Want To Protect You.

By Carol TownendPublished 7 months ago 3 min read
4
I Can See You
Photo by Kenny Eliason on Unsplash

Hi, my name is Hallo, and I stand outside your house at night. You won't see me though, because I know how to disappear from human eyes. I want you to know that I have been watching you, even when Halloween isn't here.

You went to work at 5:40 this morning, and you stopped at the garage to get some bread on the way home. You got stuck in a traffic jam, and you punched the steering wheel, and called it a "bitch!"

I have lantern eyes you see, and these eyes know everything. They know when someone is sleeping, eating, working, arguing, where you are going, and they can see you, even when you are naked.

You took a shower at 8:30 this evening because you were going on a date with your cocky boyfriend; you know, the guy who thinks he is bigger than everyone else when he flexes his muscles just to prove he is hard.

"I'll show him whose hard if he speaks to you like some kind of filthy slut again!"

I'm very sorry, but I accidentally saw you slip your clothes off tonight. My eyes have burning lanterns that can also give me supervision, but hey, no worries!

You are lush eye candy, and you're too good for that pompous ego-tastic dickhead your dating!

If only I was human, I'd date you myself. Those pretty brown eyes and fire-red hair really do something, even to an old hollow pumpkin head like me!

I must not ramble though; I have more to tell you!

Your white fluffy dog, Lola, ran away this morning, and you couldn't find her. You had been searching for her throughout most of the night. At 2:35 this morning, you flopped on your bed and you sobbed hard. Five minutes later, your dickhead boyfriend walked in, and he screamed at you for losing the dog. I would have come into the house and ripped his head off for that, but I didn't want to scare you so I refrained.

However, I took a long walk to visit my other pumpkin friends and I found Lola trapped under a bush. She trembled when she saw me, but I had that impact on everyone around me because of my big head, evil grin, and lantern eyes.

However, I am not evil; I just look evil.

I had some doggy drops stuffed in my pocket. Some children stuffed them in there during the day. They actually dropped them, but the choccy drops disappeared into my pocket, although those poor children couldn't see me as I'm only visible at night. I took them out of my pocket and offered them to Lola.

It worked, and we became best friends.

I can talk to dogs, and I told Lola that she must never run away again because she upset her mummy tonight. Lola promised she would always stay where mummy knew where she was. I then walked Lola back to your door.

Dickhead wasn't there when I got there, but he left this note on your door.

Dear Jenny and Lola,

"I am leaving tonight because I can't cope with Lola Whining, and you screaming like a banshee every time you get upset. I guess you'll be consoling yourself tonight with some other guy."

Goodbye,

Derek.

I didn't give you that letter because I knew that you'd be upset. I did put a curse on Derek though, so that he could never date again. I hate men and women who treat each other like trash. If I had been violent like the other pumpkin heads, I would have rammed my axe through his throat. I refrained because I know you have two children, and I didn't want to hurt them by killing their daddy.

Anyway, my dear Jenny and Lola. I can smell the morning coming so I must disappear again. I will protect you while you are sleeping tonight, but I promise I will never hurt you.

I know your every move. I want to protect you.

Good night,

Love from Hallo.

Short StoryPsychologicalLoveHumorHorrorCONTENT WARNING
4

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe Patterson7 months ago

    Wow that was dark.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.