Fiction logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Oh, You Scombottled Dool Ass!

Definition: When You Lose Something, Only To Find You're Sitting On It.

By Carol TownendPublished 8 months ago β€’ 1 min read
7
Oh, You Scombottled Dool Ass!
Photo by Yogendra Singh on Unsplash

I searched high and low for my phone. I was sure that I had put it on the chair arm, but it wasn't there.

"What the fuck?" I said to my friend, Janice who was trying to help me find it.

We searched the lounge, kitchen, bathroom, toilet, and the children's rooms. We even checked all around the outside of the house, in-case I had dropped it on the way in.

"This is no use! It must have been stolen while we were at the park!" I complained.

"It's not in the car, is it?" Janice asked me.

"That's not possible. I haven't used the car, I explained while pacing the floor in frustration.

I decided to finally sit down and have a think.

"Watch out!" Janice said laughing.

I looked in my chair, and to my surprise, my phone was staring back at me!

"Oh, you Scombottled Dool Ass!" Jan exclaimed.

I asked her for a meaning, and she said

"When you lose something, only to find you're sitting on it."

I stared at her, and replied,

"You cheeky Fucker!"

Short StoryMicrofictionHumorCONTENT WARNING
7

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • π‘πŒ π’π­π¨πœπ€π­π¨π§8 months ago

    Brilliantly done, and very relatable! I don't recall ever looking for something I was sitting on, but I once spent ten minutes looking for my ball cap, only to discover it was sitting on my head.

  • Joe Patterson8 months ago

    Anyone who can’t relate to this is a lost soul.

  • Haha πŸ˜‚ Nice Job πŸ“πŸ˜‰πŸ‘this is relatable πŸ’―30mins ago my phone πŸ“± was underneath me Tucked inside the couch cushions lol πŸ˜† ❗

  • Luther8 months ago

    Nice work ❀️ I’m new here hope my stories are good 😊

  • Darkos8 months ago

    Somehow Your word reminds me of mine just transformed into English pronunciation (Notten)scorbengnoten - scombottled :) haha I enjoyed great entrance :)

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    I love this and I love the word!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.