Fiction logo

I can predict who will die

I said to my friend, "I have a feeling your grandmother is not coming back."

By Eamonn DaviesPublished 2 years ago 3 min read

It was probably in the second grade , it was summer , and it was very sunny . I played on the roadside with two classmates , and after passing a small shop , we went in to buy popsicles . Then we stood in front of the small shop eating popsicles together . I was eating and eating , and suddenly a lot of paper money , or more specifically , coins , floated in my mind . Moreover , it seems to be out of control , and I didn't recover until the coins fell to the ground . Not long afterward , I heard horns in the distance , and I heard women crying . One of my classmates ran over to the place where the sound was heard , and after a while , he ran back quickly , pulling me and another classmate to the small shop . " Someone died , and there are mourners and coffins in front of them , " said the classmate . I thought it was incredible , and then the funeral procession passed the small shop , and I stood behind the door and peeked out secretly . Someone in line were blowing a trumpet , the person in the middle of the line lowered his head , holding a brown-black box of both hands , a few men were carrying coffins , and a few people at the back of the line were throwing paper money into the air . I shuddered a little , and then hurried back home . Later , once , I went to play at a friend's house where I played well . My friend's parents worked in other places and lived with their grandparents since childhood . Grandpa passed away relatively early , so friends have been relying on grandma . After I went there that day , I happened to meet my friend's grandma at the door . My friend's grandma looked at me kindly and said , "Xiaoqing , come and play ! I'll go to pick some lychees and come back for you to eat . " . When I first saw the face of my friend's grandmother , I always had a bad premonition , but I couldn't tell what it was . I smiled and said , "Wow . " . I went into the house to find a friend . I chatted with my friend with an afternoon of gossip . It was a little late , but my friend's grandmother still didn't come home . " My grandma must have met another woman and chatted with her , " my friend said . " I feel like your grandma won't come back ." . I blurted out . My friend suddenly looked at me in horror , then burst into tears , got up and ran to the neighbor's house , called some people to help find my grandmother , and then I followed my friend to search . We searched for more than an hour , but couldn't find it . As a result , an uncle in the village suddenly called us from a distance . The uncle said that his friend's grandmother fell on the mountain , hit her head with a stone , and bled , and has now been sent to the town hospital . The friend hurriedly followed the uncle to the hospital . However , it was later learned that the friend's grandmother had passed away during the process of being taken to the hospital . My friend hasn't seen me since then , and I think she hates me . It was also after that that that I lost the ability to predict death . Maybe it gradually returned to ordinary with age , or maybe I subconsciously forgot this ability . Anyway , it is a good thing for me . Predicting death is not a happy thing , but a burden !

Short Story

About the Creator

Eamonn Davies

An avid lover of stories about ghosts and legends, I love the thrill of having my bones tingle! I hope you enjoy my story.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Eamonn DaviesWritten by Eamonn Davies

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.