Fiction logo

How I Saved the Galaxy (on a Limited Budget)

How I Saved the Galaxy (on a Limited Budget)

By Saroj RanaPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
How I Saved the Galaxy (on a Limited Budget)
Photo by Kristopher Roller on Unsplash

All of this happened so many years ago that I finally told someone the true story of how I came to put an end to the alien invasion. For some reason I could not get into it, I was assigned to a guarded section of the galaxy that is often operated only by mining robots. Sometimes you are in the wrong place at the wrong time.

Well, if you should know, I did not find many friends in my previous post. All I can say is that if you have been assigned a warship called Invincible 3, asking what happened to the first two Invincibles will probably not make you attractive to your boss.

So I found myself on a dead planet with only corporate AI. In terms of AIs, Shin was not so bad. It did not like to stick to a base with limited bandwidth. Many AIs have a real desire to incorporate the latest security upgrades and our channel did not have the budget for all upgrades, so Shin used illegal leaflets.

One morning Shin woke me up earlier than planned. "The foreign army is looking at us, Hideyoshi. They have ignored my warnings."

I was still asleep. "Shouldn't the alarms go off?"

"Me and you just here, Hideyoshi."

I did not need to be reminded.

"I have informed you of the urgency of the situation," Shin said. "Cyrillic is not required."

I would not argue with the point. I got out of bed and Shin showed me the show. I almost had a heart attack.

Alien ships were large. What would I do? Our base was designed to protect mining projects in nearby mines, but I always thought that any invaders could invade the mines without disturbing us.

"They ignored my warning about the spear of God," said Shin.

When you are old enough to remember President Kimura, you probably remember his image standing on the spear of the god, or BFM, as they were known. "These massive missiles will destroy all the traces of our enemies," Kimura declared.

He did a great thing by promising to include BFM in all corporate domains, but I had my doubts about the wisdom of a single-shot security policy.

"The enemy is coming," Shin said. "Please confirm the launch of God's spear."

"What are you talking about? You know that won't work."

Although our domain was hosted by BFM, due to budget constraints, the launch tubes had not yet been upgraded. BFM was too big to be fired. If you are wondering how this kind of situation could arise, then it is clear that you did not have much to do with military contract firms.

"Please confirm the spear of the gods' presentation," Shin repeated.

"I will not go out and push. The arrow will not shoot."

"For security reasons you have not been told that the launch tubes have been upgraded. Please confirm the launch of the god spear."

I had tested the delivery tubes two days earlier as part of my regular test. "Is this a drill?"

"This is not a drill."

"What the hell, shoot."

"Confirmed." A small red dot appears on the display and follows in the direction of the outer vessels. The dot was too small and the vessels too big. The better would just annoy them.

When the arrow failed to stop the attackers, company policy dictated that I hit my boat in the head. There was no way I was going kamikaze to my business managers. There is no divine atmosphere in the universe.

The dot landed on the ships. The dot and all the collections disappeared from the display. "What's going on?"

"Foreign vehicles have been damaged. Please make sure the conflicts are over."

"What? BFM couldn't destroy the whole ship."

"The arrow has destroyed all our enemies," Shin said.

It took me a while to figure out what was going on. (I'm not a morning person). The foundation that survived the invasion of the aliens will be considered the most important. That meant an increase in the budget. That meant more bandwidth.

The company would not believe that AI could deceive foreign invaders, but who knew what all this unauthorized development was doing to Shin's plans?

"The end of the controversy is guaranteed," I replied.

There was already an investigation, but the president had promised that the arrow would not leave even the traces of our enemies. He was not deceived by the man of the company they sent him to, but he knew that if he got upset, it would turn out that they had not given us enough money to upgrade the startup tubes, and no one wanted such attention. . Everyone loves to learn about a hero. So that's what they call me - the man who saved the galaxy from attack. Shin got his development and I got to do company PR.

And that is a true story of how I saved the galaxy, with a limited budget. It's your turn to buy the next round.

Fan Fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.