Fiction logo

A Surefire Treatment for Dizzy Spells

A Surefire Treatment for Dizzy Spells

By Saroj RanaPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
A Surefire Treatment for Dizzy Spells
Photo by Andrew Haimerl (ANDREWNEF) on Unsplash

"Sit down, sit down," Algrin said to the client. A young man, just a boy. "Haven't I ever seen you here?"

"No, no," said the young man. He couldn't look her in the eye. However, that was not unusual.

"Chair. Why don't you tell me the problem?" Said Algrin.

The boy sat on the edge of the chair. "That's all - you know, I have a problem."

"Hmm. Can you explain the problem?" Again approached the checkpoint and opened his briefcase. He began to put other tools - diagnostics, and treatments - on the table. He found that most of his clients were very open when he did not stare at them, not forcing them to meet his eyes. Laying the instruments was a sensible way for him to avoid staring while the client was freeing himself. Also, they may need more tools.

"Well, I guess I'm affected — you know, for example, by distractions."

Algrin turned. The child was embarrassed.

"Dizziness spells, huh?" Algrin stroked his beard. He did not really feel the need to stroke his beard, but people seemed to be waiting for him, seemingly finding some comfort in it. "Too bad?"

"Yeah, sometimes. I mean, I have to sit down before I fall. I have to lie down until they pass."

"I see." Algrin showed, opening his hand with an open hand in the sky. Something they seemed to be expecting from someone in his line of work. "Are there any other problems?"

"I think there are spells.

The first basic set. Almost every child knew. It would be the same in his own day; children do not change.

"Huh. And what was this you were using?"

"Yes. It never gave me a problem."

"Tell you what. Just show me. Don't say the words, but show me how you hold it."

The child panicked but did as he was told.

"Okay, I think I see the problem," said Aldrin, stroking his beard again. He pretended to think more about the matter. They broke their fingers. "Yeah, I think I can see. You've been holding on tight."

"What do you mean, 'I'm wrong?"

"Hold it at the end. See?"

"So I should have caught it, how - like this?"

"Absolutely."

The young man licked his lips, gasping for breath. "Man. This is really embarrassing."

"Think nothing of it," Aldrin said. "I get cases like this all the time."

"Really? People often get into this problem? Isn't that a castle?"

"Oh, yes. All the time. It's very unusual." Algrin smiled. "Especially with young people, people with little experience ...."

The child was able to nod.

"Some people put a small dab of paint on top, to remember," Algren said. "Some people just use nail polish instead or something. Tie a ribbon, maybe. And none of this will interfere with performance, so don't worry about that."

"Well, thank you," said the boy.

"I wish you the best of luck," Algren said. "Oh, and you can pay Jilly, the recipient when you leave."

When the child finally left the store, Algrin wandered out of his office and into the lobby.

"Just the amount of token, right?" Asks Jilly. "You just feel bad for the baby."

Jilly was giggling. "The idiot didn't even know how to hold the stick!" he said. "Can you believe it?"

Again helps to celebrate. “Well, come on,” she said. "It's not really a surprise. He doesn't really see this for the first time."

"Really?" Asks Jilly. "That should be before I came to work here! Who was it?"

Again removed his face. "I don't want to talk about it," he said.

Excerpt
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.