Fiction logo

A Moment With Mrs. Lily

A Decisive Decision

By Kira KagaminPublished 16 days ago Updated 14 days ago 3 min read
Like
A Moment With Mrs. Lily
Photo by Cody Fitzgerald on Unsplash

I looked at my watch, noticing the time was 5:59 p.m. I only had a minute left before coming to the office to end my day. All I had to do was replace the trash can’s bag angove. The resident should be coming back from whatever activity she may have on her agenda today. I would like to get out of their room before they come back. Some residents are very particular about their space, who is in it, and breaks in their routine. After collecting the full trash bag, I returned to my cart and put it in the receptacle. I grabbed the cherry blossom-scented trash bags going back to the trash can.

“You always work so hard, just like your dad. You be sure to take it easy sometimes and drink plenty of water. Rest is just as important as hard work.” The sweet voice of the room’s resident filled my ears. I finished situating the bag in the trash can before turning back to see the frail older woman slowly creep into the room, her walker in tow. I had only recently started working here at Whispering Meadows Assisted Living Center. I had become very familiar with the residents, but this particular resident initially confused me. Mrs. Lily Reaver always smiled and waved at me as though she had known me for a long time. Today was my first day alone, so I wanted to do my tasks and avoid my residence. I believed she was talking to her son, so I attempted to leave. I halted in my tracks as thin arms coiled around my waist and her tiny body pressed to my side.

“I love you, Travis. Have a good day.” She whispered. That is not my name. The realization lit my mind as I finally understood what the strange behavior was from. I instantly remembered reading her patient history and feeling sad for her. Her husband and son donated their lives for our country's freedom. Her son, Travis Reaver, had passed only a few years ago. I also recall she was recently diagnosed with Alzheimer's. She believed I was her son. I was now left with mere seconds to come up with a decision. Should I tell her I’m not her son or just go along?

A memory of my mother came to me, and it solidified my decision. She had been in the hospital for the last six months of her adventure on this earth. She had one nurse that touched me to my core. We lost my twin sister shortly before her health began to fail. There was a nurse I noticed Mom had become very close to and could interact with her like no other. I soon realized she had come to believe the nurse was my sister. Even more touching was that the nurse decided to play along as best as possible, making her final days happier. I looked down, meeting her innocent blue eyes as she gazed up at me. Her thin mop of salt and pepper hair framed an oval, rosy-cheeked face. I decided that if believing I was her son helped her and made her much better, I would gladly oblige.

“Yes, Ma’am. I love you, too. I have to go for now. I'll see you soon.” I said, tucking my badge in my pocket, collecting my cart, and exiting her room. Just as I left the room, my watch beeped for the top of the hour. It’s amazing to think about how, every day, we make potentially life-altering decisions in mere seconds. We rarely take the time to consider just how those off-the-cuff decisions can change our lives.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Kira Kagamin

I have always loved to write since grade school. I am super self-conscious about my work but excited to adjust and make my pieces better. Any feedback is welcomed and appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Hannah Moore16 days ago

    But decisions made in kindness seems like the right way to go.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.