Fiction logo

Helpless But Not Helpless

In a feeling of helplessness, there is always something for us. Whether you look at it as prayer, as good thoughts, good wishes, or perhaps just something else which we mere mortals do not have a word for.

By Stephen Kramer AvitabilePublished about a year ago 3 min read
Top Story - April 2023
66
Helpless But Not Helpless
Photo by Yoel J Gonzalez on Unsplash

In a feeling of helplessness, there is always something for us. Whether you look at it as prayer, as good thoughts, good wishes, or perhaps just something else which we mere mortals do not have a word for.

**************

This story was originally published on Medium.

**************

I’m seeing something awful happen right now, and there is nothing I can do.

The man is down. The man is not getting up. I want to help, but I’m no one to this man. I’m no one with any experience in helping people, no medical degree, nothing of value in this situation.

Yet, I cannot help but to feel I should do something.

I internalize, I use my internal voice and I speak to… whoever may be up there… out there… watching over us sentient beings.

“I do a lot of good in this world. Not for myself. Yes, I get a good feeling when I do it, but it’s not for that. It’s just to do good. Now, this may seem like a silly question. But is good karma a real thing? Do I accumulate good karma for what I have done? I imagine if I do, if that is the case, I must have a good deal stored up. I have no idea if this is the case, but it’s all I have to lean on. Can I contribute any of my good karma towards this man? Take what good karma I have… transfer it to this man. Can you do that? Can you just remove it from me and transfer it to him? His body? His soul? Let it help him… if it can. Let it heal him… if it can. Please, send my good karma to this man who needs it far more than I do.”

I stop with my internal speech. It is loud and noisy on these streets. Just as it was before the accident took place. Then, everything begins to hush. Everything begins to quiet, more and more. Until it is silent. Everything freezes. Nothing is moving.

Not the leaves on the trees, they don’t blow in the wind. The wind has stopped. The people freeze, the citizens, the EMT’s, everyone. My arms still dangle at my side. I still have the ability to move.

And then a cool suction-like feeling is felt in my chest. Like a cool wind is being sucked out of me… and I see it… tiny blue particles coming right out of my chest… being pulled by something. It doesn’t hurt. But I feel it.

The blue particles group together to form a stream… a stream of something… they float across the street… towards the man… and they implant into his chest.

All the sounds return. Everyone continues moving. EMT’s continue to administer CPR. And then…

A huge gasp of breath.

The man coughs violently.

“He’s breathing!” One EMT shouts. “Let’s get him in the ambulance!”

The EMT’s scurry to board the man into the back of the ambulance. As they carry him in, he turns his neck, and he looks over at me. He looks as you’d expect a man to look after being hit by a car… except for that twinkle in his eye… that very familiar twinkle. That I’ve only seen in the reflection of mirrors.

**************

If you enjoyed this story and want to read more of my work, then please come check out my website where I post all my latest work, plus you can even subscribe for updates!

Short StoryFantasy
66

About the Creator

Stephen Kramer Avitabile

I'm a creative writer in the way that I write. I hold the pen in this unique and creative way you've never seen. The content which I write... well, it's still to be determined if that's any good.

https://www.stephenavitabilewriting.com/

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (27)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantor11 months ago

    SK ~ You captured the essence of this piece from the lead of the eye-catching presentation. You really have a touch to communicate. In my ask-answer Biz 'Perception Trumps reality every single time.' It seems to me you have a "Tell" Stephen - you are very 'observationally' perceptive; and, of course, I couldn't say all of that (3) times really fast. Sorry to take your time with all this, but take a moment to see a special compliment (below) I know that I'm just an old fashion Story Teller; as of course you've noticed - not into contest - but respect that you are. Cool how you have the ability to relate what a fellow writer is trying to Toss-Out ~ regardless of which Gen we might have been spawned ~ After Bopping Around your Topics and fabulous features, I just have to wonder how you bring your ideas to reality? It fascinates me that you are an 'Artist' while most are only 'Writers'. I toss ideas against the wall and what sticks is what I write about, really! Then my fingers and my 'Alter Ego' take over the typing through my keyboard. I wrote about Alter Ego ~ I'm curious if you can relate. - Just wanted to say that - Jay

  • J.M. Powellabout a year ago

    Amazing imagery. Great job!

  • reza HarfeDelabout a year ago

    It was short but effective, good luck

  • J. R. Loweabout a year ago

    Short and sweet with a great opening sentence. I like your take on good-karma as well. Lovely work!

  • K. C. Wexlarabout a year ago

    Love the last line - congrats on a top story!

  • Muhammad Aliabout a year ago

    A powerful and moving story about the human capacity for compassion and hope, and the unexplainable mysteries of the universe. The idea of transferring good karma to help someone in need is both thought-provoking and inspiring.

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    Oh wow! This is the kind of story I love reading in the early mornings. You not only made my day but inspired me to do better and be better for everyone around me. ❤️'d and subscribed :)

  • Furqanabout a year ago

    Great work !

  • Olivia Davisabout a year ago

    Nice

  • Caroline Cravenabout a year ago

    Great story! Awesome stuff.

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Congrats on the top story!! This story really started off with a bang that just pulled me right along!! Great work!

  • Dana Crandellabout a year ago

    Very moving. Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • JBazabout a year ago

    Congratulations This is a great piece

  • Christopher Jubaabout a year ago

    Well put mate very interesting

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    This is mesmerizing! You really pulled me in with the mystery of the beginning, and I felt anxious to know what was going to happen. I really love the ending - how you compared the twinkle in his eyes to a mirror. Well done, and congrats on Top Story!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Wonderful piece. Congrats on the Top Story.

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    Well done!! Keep up the great work! Congratulations on top story

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    I feel so humble after reading this. Thanks for sharing!

  • Ahna Lewisabout a year ago

    Your style of storytelling brought me right in and made me so curious to see what would happen next! Nice job!

  • JBazabout a year ago

    SO much in so few words. Drew me from the beginning.

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Thank you Stephen for writing such a nice story of virtue and selflessness. A good lesson learned.

  • Huge believer of karma here! I loved the concept you in this story! Made me smile! So heartwarming!

  • Beautiful, empathic, aspirational. Loved reading this.

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    I believe in karma 100% enjoyed the read

  • ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.