Fiction logo

Heartwarming story between man and dog

Heartwarming story between man and dog

By JerryPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1

When I was a puppy, my naughty antics always made you laugh and brought you joy. Although the shoes and pillows at home were bitten to pieces by me, you still regarded me as your best friend, and even called me your child. Whenever you're messing around, you're always wagging your finger at me and saying, "How can you do this?" But in the end you'll surrender to me, rubbing my belly playfully.

When you're so busy, I'm bored and have to make a mess of the house. My silent protest always works for you. Every night before I go to bed, I will jump on your bed, lean on you and act like a spoiled child, and listen to you tell me about your dreams and secrets. We often go for walks, chases, and the occasional drive in the park. Sometimes we stop for a cup of ice cream - you always say ice cream is bad for your dog's health, so every time I just have a slush cone. Every afternoon I take a nap in the setting sun, ready to welcome you home. These days, I am sure, are the happiest times of my life.

Gradually, you spend more time at work and more time looking for your significant other. No matter how busy or troubled you are, I will patiently wait for you, accompany you through every day of despair and heartbreak, and support your every choice - even if it's a terrible one - no matter what happens , every day you step into the door, I will still rush towards you with the same excitement, welcoming you home warmly.

You are finally in love, and I am very happy for you. Your she—your present wife—is not a dog lover, and has always been a little indifferent to my dog, but I welcome her from the bottom of my heart. I am absolutely obedient to her, and occasionally act like a spoiled child; I want to let her know that I love her very much too.

Later, you added a baby, and I was as excited as you were. I was captured by their delicate faces, their frowns and smiles. I really want to hurt them and love your children as if I love you, but you and your wife are afraid that I will hurt them and keep me outside the door all day, even in a cage.

Your children grew up and I became their good friend. They like to hobble to my feet, grab my fur, finger my eyes, check my ears, and kiss my nose. I especially like their stroking - because you don't touch me much anymore. Sometimes I would jump on their bed, lean on them and act coquettishly, listen carefully to their thoughts and little secrets, and wait for the sound of you driving your car into the driveway and going home. I liked everything about them; I would even give my life to protect them if needed.

I have always believed that your happiness is my happiness, how and how I love you and your family... This kind of thinking made me eventually become a "captive of love".

Once upon a time when people asked if you had pets in your home, you would never hesitate to pull my picture out of your wallet and tell them my anecdote. However, in recent years, when someone asked the same question, you just answered "yes" coldly, and then turned to other topics. I've gone from "your dog" to just "a dog". You have even become stingy with my expenses. Later, your career will take a new turn, and you will most likely have to work in another city and move to an apartment that does not allow pets. Finally, you make the right choice for "family". However, do you remember when I was the interpretation of your "family"?

Your car is off. I don't know where I am, and I am full of anticipation on the journey. Finally we arrived at an animal shelter. There was not only the smell of cats and dogs, but also the smell of fear and despair. As you write the document, you say to the people there: "I know you can definitely find a good home for it". Looking at you, they shrugged their shoulders with a sad look—they knew exactly how the old dogs here would end up going; even though the old dogs were carrying all kinds of certificates, they couldn't.

Your son grabbed my collar tightly and cried, "No! Dad, please don't let them take my dog!" to me. I worry about him, and even more about the life lessons you teach him: what is friendship, what is loyalty, what is love, what is responsibility, what is...respect for life!

You always have to go. You avoided my eyes and patted me on the head one last time to say goodbye. You politely declined to keep my collar and drawstring, and walked away without looking back.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Jerry

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.